Reference Databases
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Selected Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Leadership by
`The enormous demands on leadership in today''s world-the rise of militant followings; the struggle of long-suppressed people to rise to leadership positions; the heightened demand for moral, principled leadership - all these dynamic forces contribute to making this encyclopedia timely - and timeless'' - James MacGregor Burns, Williams College, author of Leadership and winner of the Pulitzer Prize and National Book Award `This authoritative reference source, edited by Pulitzer prize-winning presidential biographer Burns and written by some 400 scholars from 17 countries, comprehensively covers a burgeoning new field of academic study-leadership. Its scope is amazingly broad, reflecting the interdisciplinary applications of the subject. The 373 alphabetically arranged entries are accompanied by 150 photos and other illustrations, with 300 sidebars drawn from a variety of sources. Approximately one third of the entries provide biographical information about men and women who have made significant contributions to the field. Other categories include case studies, leadership studies, followership, women and gender, personal characteristics of model leaders, leadership styles, and leadership theories. The appendixes following the main body of the work include a six-page select bibliography of books related to leadership, a directory of 250 leadership programs with accompanying mission statements, key foreign policy and war speeches of U.S. presidents, and excerpts from sacred texts illuminating "the role of leaders and leadership concepts." Bottom Line: Because of its breadth, ease of navigation, high level of scholarship, clear writing and practical format, this model encyclopedia should help establish leadership as a normative field of study. Highly recommended'' - The Library Journal From the earliest times people have been entranced by stories about leaders - about Greek city state rulers, Roman consuls, Chinese emperors, religious potentates, military conquerors, and politicians. Perhaps more importantly, leadership is a challenge and an opportunity facing millions of people in their professional and personal lives. The Encyclopedia of Leadership brings together for the first time everything that is known and truly matters about leadership as part of the human experience. Developed by the award-winning editorial team at Berkshire Publishing Group, the Encyclopedia includes hundreds of articles, written by 400 leading scholars and experts from 17 countries, exploring leadership theories and leadership practice. Over a third of the work - some 500,000 words - is devoted to biographical essays and to case studies focused on leaders (and their followers). Articles and sidebars show leadership in action-in corporations and state houses, schools, churches, small businesses, and nonprofit organizations. Questions the Encyclopedia of Leadership answer: - What is a leader? - What is a great leader? - How does someone become a leader? - What are the types of leadership? - How can leadership theories help us understand contemporary situations? - How can I be a good (and maybe great) leader? The Encyclopedia of Leadership is an unprecedented learning resource. Scholars, students, professionals, and active citizens will turn to the Encyclopedia for guidance on the theory and practice of leadership, for the stories of great leaders, and for the tools and knowledge they need to lead in the 21st century. Key Features: - Four volumes - 400 substantive articles, ranging in length from 1000-6000 words - 200 photographs and other illustrations - 250 sidebars drawn from public records, newspaper accounts, memoirs, and ethnography Article categories: - Biographies - Case studies - Followers and followership - Gender issues - Leadership in different disciplines - Leadership in different domains - Leadership styles - Personality characteristics - Situational factors - Theories and concepts The Encyclopedia of Leadership is an vital tool for librarians with collections in business, management, history, politics, communication, psychology, and a host of other disciplines. Students and teachers in courses ranging from history to psychology, anthropology, and law will also find this an invaluable reference. Editorial Board Laurien Alexandre, Antioch University Bruce Avolio, University of Nebraska, Lincoln Martin Chemers, University of California, Santa Cruz Kisuk Cho, Ewha Womans University Joanne Ciulla, University of Richmond David Collinson, Lancaster University Yiannis Gabriel, Imperial College, London Zachary Green, Alexander Institute and University of Maryland Keith Grint, Oxford University Michael Hogg, University of Queensland Jerry Hunt, Texas Tech University Barbara Kellerman, Harvard University Jean Lipman-Blumen, Claremont Graduate University Larraine Matusak, LarCon Associates Ronald Riggio, Claremont McKenna College J rgen Weibler, Fernuniversitat Hagen Contributors Include Warren Bennis (Management) John Chandler (Higher Education) Cynthia Cherrey (International Leadership Association) Bob Edgerton (Mau Mau Rebellion) Gene Gallagher (Religion) Betty Glad (Camp David Accords and Tyrannical Leadership) Louis Gould (Woodrow Wilson and Lyndon Johnson) Allen Guttmann (Modern Olympics Movement and Women''s Movement) Ronald Heifetz (Adaptive Work) Dale Irvin (Ann Lee) David Malone (Billy Graham) Martin Marty (Martin Luther) Kenneth Ruscio (Trust) Robert Solomon (Friedrich Nietzsche) Robert Sternberg (Intelligence and Tacit Knowledge) Fay Vincent (Sports Industry) Gary Yukl (Influence Tactics and Group Performance)
Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Handbook of Creativity, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship by ISBN: 9780199927678Publication Date: 2015-05-13
Entrepreneurs: Talent, Temperament and Opportunity by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780415631877Publication Date: 2013
The Vital Few: The Entrepreneur and American Economic Progress by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195040388Publication Date: 1986
