Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Return to Library Homepage

Digital Resources for Online Teaching: Primary Resources

Resources for finding primary and secondary resources for including in your online classroom.

Resources

Art, Architecture, & Design

NC State Design Library Image Resources with Zero or Limited Copyright Restrictions

Design Library list of image resources for art, architecture, landscape architecture, graphic design, industrial design, fashion, decorative arts, cities, maps, engineering, history, religion, medicine, natural sciences, and much more.

Biomedicine

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research articles and reports in the medical and life sciences.

Chemistry

ChemIDplus

ChemIDplus is a free database of structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including the TOXNET® system.

ChemSpider

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing text and structure search access to over 35 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

ChemSynthesis

ChemSynthesis is a free database of substances with their synthesis references and physical properties such as melting point, boiling point and density. More than 40,000 compounds and more than 45,000 synthesis references in the database.

NIST Chemistry Webbook

NIST Chemistry Webbook is a free database of physical property data compiled by the National Institute of Standards (NIST) under their Standard Reference Data Program. In addition to thermodynamics (thermochemical, thermophysical, ion energetic) date, IR, mass, and UV/Vis spectra is also available.

Organic Chemistry Portal

Organic Chemistry Portal is a free portal of organic reactions and syntheses.

Organic Syntheses

Organic Syntheses is free database of preparations of organic syntheses

PubChem

PubChem is a free database on the biological activities of small molecules. Includes PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)

SDBS is a free integrated spectral database system for organic compounds,which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds.

Criminal Justice

National Criminal Justice Reference

NCJRS is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Economics & Demography

UNdata

Statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics.

Government Information

FDsys

FDsys provides free online access to official Federal Government publications.

BioMed Central

BioMed Central provides free access to biomedical research publications such as journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts.

Medicine

Clinical Trials

Clinical Trials is a database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central is the barrier-free NIH repository for peer-reviewed primary research articles and reports in the medical and life sciences.

Multidisciplinary

Core

CORE (COnnecting REpositories) aggregates all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide.

OAIster

OAIster is a union catalog of over 30 million records representing open access resources.

Internet Archive eBooks and Texts

Provides online access to the full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books reproduced either from the texts produced by libraries, other organizations, or individuals.

Digital Public Library of America

The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections

The Smithsonian Libraries Digital Collections include over 35,000 digitized books and manuscripts (available in either our Digital Library or as part of the Biodiversity Heritage Library) as well as digitized photo collections, ephemera, and seed catalogs.

Library of Congress Digital Collections

The Library of Congress Digital Collections provides access to maps, photographs, letters, diaries and newspapers that allow the patrons to hear personal accounts of events, listen to sound recordings, and watch historic films.

Natural History

Biodiversity Heritage Library

The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

New York/Marist College History

New York Public Library Digital Collections

The New York Public Library Digital Collections is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

Marist College Archives Digital Collections

The Marist College Archives Digital Collections is a constantly growing repository of images, text, and videos that document the college's history and collections pertaining to people in history local to the lower Hudson Valley.

Acknowledgement

This resource borrows heavilly from the Open Access web page and NC State Libraries, https://www.lib.ncsu.edu/open-access. They are to be thanked for the hard work and excellent resources collected here.