Skip to Main Content

How to Get Permanent Links to Library Sources: Home

Why can't I just bookmark or copy the links at the top of my browser?

When searching in Fox Hunt or the library databases, you click on a source in your search results and you get to read the full text. But behind the scenes, the database creates a temporary link that allows you to get to the source from the search results page and once you're done searching the link breaks down or expires.  So it is important to know how to find a permanent link to the resource you are using to ensure you get access even when your search is done.

Use this guide to determine the ways to find permanent links in Library databases and the exceptions where permanent links are not necessary.

Symbols to Look For

Share:

Share symbol

Get Link:

get link

page link

permalink symbol

Link to this page symbol

Exceptions to These Rules

There are some exceptions to this and they include but are not limited to:

  • Access Medicine
  • Access Physiotherapy
  • ACS Publications
  • Berg Fashion Library
  • Cochrane Library
  • eBook Central
  • Kanopy
  • Privco
  • PubMed
  • Sage Journals
  • ScienceDirect
  • Springer Journals
  • Taylor and Francis 
  • WWD

The links at the top of the browser can be saved and used to access materials from these database or publishers.

No Permanent Links Available

There are some databases that do not allow you to link to their content.  They include but are not limited to:

  • IBISWorld
  • Passport (Euromonitor) 
  • SRDS
  • University Reporter

You should download anything you wish to use in the future from these databases as a means to retain access.  For citations, check out the Citing Business Sources Page for guidance.

EbscoHost Databases

EbscoHost databases have a Permalink option in the right hand menu.  Click the Permalink and it will generate a link.

EbscoHost Permalink Button

EbscoHost Databases include:

  • Academic Search Elite
  • America: History & Life
  • Biography Reference Bank
  • Business Source Elite
  • Communication & Mass Media Complete
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • ERIC
  • Health Source
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Index to Jewish Periodicals
  • Military & Government Collection
  • MLA International
  • Nation Archive
  • New Republic Archive
  • Newspaper Source
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Professional Development Collection
  • Regional Business News
  • Social Work Abstracts
  • SPORTDiscus

Gale Databases

Gale databases have a "Get Link" option in the right-hand corner.  Click the "Get Link" button and it will generate a link.

Gale Databases Get Link symbol

Gale Databases include:

  • American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 
  • Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 Part 1 
  • Business Insights Essentials
  • Gale Academic OneFile
  • Gale eBooks
  • Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
  • Gale Literature
  • Gale Literature Criticism
  • Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine
  • Gale OneFile: Informe Academico
  • Gale OneFile: News
  • Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health
  • Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine
  • Nineteenth Century Collections Online: Women and Transnational Networks
  • Sabin Americana: History of the Americas, 1500-1926
  • Slavery And Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive -- Part I: Debates over slavery and abolition
  • Women's Studies Archive: Issues and Identities 

ProQuest Databases

ProQuest Databases provide a "Document URL" to link to their sources.  This can be found on the Abstract/Details or Details tab of the record for a source.  Scroll down on this tab until you find the "Document URL" field.

ProQuest Abstract Details Tab Diagram 

Scroll down on this tab until you find the "Document URL" field.ProQuest Document URL Diagram

ProQuest Databases include:

  • ABI/Inform
  • Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection
  • Chicago Tribune
  • Historical Newspapers
  • Los Angeles Time
  • New York Times
  • Poughkeepsie Journal
  • ProQuest Central
  • PsycArticles
  • PsycInfo
  • U.S. Newstream
  • Vogue Archive
  • Wall Street Journal
  • Washington Post

Finding Permanent Links in Other Databases

ARTSTOR within JSTOR

A link is provided on the page labeled "Remote Access URL." The link at the top left under the artwork title can also be used

Credo Reference

Look for the Chain at the top right hand side of the page

Filmmaker's Library Online/Social Work Online/60 Minutes Collection

Click the share button above the video.  In the menu that opens click the copy permalink button.

JSTOR

A link is provided on the page labeled "Remote Access URL," you may need to open item details to find this. The link at the top left under the source title can also be used

Oxford Art Online

Click the share symbol Share symbol and then click more at the bottom of the drop down that opens.  A link will be generated that you can save.

Get Help

Get Help

Have an idea for a tutorial that we should make next? Let us know!

Contact

James A. Cannavino Library

3399 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 575-3106

In the Library