Skip to main content
Return to Library Homepage

Faculty Library Guide - Marist Library Resources for Faculty: Archives

A guide explaining library services and procedures for Marist faculty

Class and Faculty Support

    The College Archives and Special Collections, located on the first floor of the James A. Cannavino Library, holds research and primary resource materials.  The strength and focus of our collections are in areas that reflect and support the teaching and research needs of students, faculty, staff, and researchers in the Marist Community.  Highlights include the Lowell Thomas Papers, our award winning Environmental History Collections, Hudson River Valley history, and the College Archives.

   Faculty interested in using our collections are encouraged to drop by or schedule a time to meet with the Head of Archives and Special Collections, John Ansley, to arrange a class session in the Archives and Special Collections or to discuss research projects.  John Ansley, may be reached at ext. 5217 or john.ansley@marist.edu.

   Guides or finding aids to the collections can be found by visiting the home page for the Archives and Special Collections: http://library.marist.edu/archives/.  Books in the Special Collections can be found on the Library’s catalog: FoxHunt.  Images from the Lowell Thomas Papers and our student newspaper can be search on-line: http://library.marist.edu/archives/search/.  The above materials will be added to Fox Hunt during the fall semester.

   The Archives and Special Collections holds over 50 unique collections that include: original documents, photographic prints, glass plate negatives, lantern slides, reel to reel audiotape, wire recordings, phonograph records, objects, artifacts, motion picture film, videotape, DVDs, artwork, scientific reports, plays, and rare books. 

 All of the collections held in the Archives and Special Collections are open to the Marist Community and all interested researchers.  The collections are non-circulating, but digital copies can be made of most items for classroom or research purposes.

Greystone and the Scholasticate, circa 1930

Greystone and the Scholasticate, circa 1930.

Greystone and the Scholasticate, circa 1930.  The Scholasticate was a wooden structure that served as a classroom building.  This building was taken down in the mid-1940s.  During this time period Greystone housed the Library.

Fast facts for faculty

LOCATION: 

LB 134 (1st floor of the James A. Cannavino Library)


HOURS:

Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 5:00 pm


RESOURCES:

· Over 50 unique collections

· 9,000 books and monographs

· 40,000 images

· 1,000 hours of audio

· 1,500 hours of film ns

· 1,000,000 documents


CONTACT INFORMATION:

· Main number – 575-3199

· John Ansley

       Head of Archives & Special Collections – 575-5217 or john.ansley@marist.edu

· Monish Singh

       Digital Archivist – 575-5214 or monish.singh1@marist.edu

· Nancy Decker

       Library Assistant – 575-3199 or nancy.decker@marist.edu


 URL:

http://library.marist.edu/archives/