Individual Reference Books
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by Publication Date: 2015Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests by Publication Date: 2014Provides a start-to-finish overview of a surgery or test, as well as information on related diseases and conditions, medications, and other issues that pertain to hospitalization, insurance plans, and the impact of the affordable Care act on all of the above.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary by Publication Date: 2017
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Dentistry by Publication Date: 2007Publisher: Oxford University Press
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Publication Date: 2006Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and more.
Nursing Leadership: A Concise Encyclopedia by Publication Date: 2011Publisher: Springer Publishing Company
The Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary Review Manual for Ophthalmology by Publication Date: 2005Publisher: Wolters Kluwer Health
Oxford American Handbook of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation by Publication Date: 2010Publisher: Oxford University Press
Valuing Animals: Veterinarians and Their Patients in Modern America by Publication Date: 2002Publisher: Johns Hopkins University Press
Traces the rise of veterinary medicine and its impact on the often conflicting ways in which Americans have assessed the utility and worth of domesticated creatures.
Reference Databases
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere.
- Center for Disease Control & PreventionOfficial CDC website, providing fact sheets and up-to-date information on health and disease.
- eSkeletons ProjectsThe purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.
- Mayo Clinic Diseases and ConditionsComprehensive guides on hundreds of conditions.
- MedlinePlus: Medical EncyclopediaMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library This link opens in a new windowA series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers.
- National Institutes of HealthThe National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services External Web Site Policy, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.
- PDR Prescribers' Digital ReferenceProvides current, accurate, and helpful information about drugs, herbal medicines and supplements, as well as common diseases and conditions.
- Dental Anatomy, Colorado State UniversityFeatures diagrams and photographs of the dental anatomy of many species including humans
- Oral Pathology Review Images, VCU Libraries Digital CollectionsDr. Dennis Page of the Department of Oral Pathology of the VCU School of Dentistry developed this collection of images to help students learn about the most common abnormalities of the oral cavity. The collection includes images of soft tissue abnormalities and radiographic abnormalities of the oral cavity. The images may be searched by type of abnormality, description, or Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
- American Optometric Association Quick Reference GuidesEach of the Quick Reference Guides (QRG) is based on one of the AOA Optometric Clinical Practice Guidelines. Their purpose is to provide clinicians with a concise summary of the key patient management information provided in the Guidelines.
- Digital Reference of Ophthalmology, Columbia UniversityAn internet-based clinical atlas of ophthalmology, which provides color images of entities encountered in ophthalmic practice accompanied by concisely written text and various ophthalmic diagnostic images. The goal of this site is to provide a world wide easily accessible educational resource for medical students, residents in training, ophthalmologists, and other healthcare professionals.
- National Eye Institute, National Institutes of HealthThe NEI Photos and Images Catalog is provided as a source of free visuals.
- EyeRounds Online Atlas of Ophthalmology, University of IowaFrom the University of Iowa Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences. A searchable and browsable database of images contributed by physicians and other Universities.
- Consultant, Cornell University College of Veterinary MedicineA Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary Medicine
- eSkeletons ProjectsThe purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.
- Veterinary Anatomical lllustrations, University of Wisconsin-Madison LibrariesThe illustrations are digitized from the classic works of the German veterinary anatomists, Wilhelm Ellenberger and Hermann Baum, and medical illustrator, Hermann Dittrich. The texts, from which these illustrations were derived, are works published in 1898 and 1911 through 1925, all entitled Handbuch der Anatomie der Tiere für Künstler which can be translated as Handbook (or Atlas) of Animal Anatomy for Artists.
- Vetstream VetlexiconA certain amount of this is free. It will then ask you to subscribe, do NOT do so.
With the widest choice, breadth and evidence-based information currently available, you and your clients can be secure in the knowledge that their pets will receive the fastest and most effective treatment possible.