Search Fox Hunt for Books
Fox Hunt
Cambridge Companion Collection
The Cambridge Companion to Epicureanism
Cambridge Collection (Explanation)
Above are the libraries collection of Philosophy Cambridge Companions. They are a fantastic way to get an in-depth background on a variety of topics.
You can also find a selection of Cambridge companions specific to certain philosophers in the philosophers tab.
Bibliography
- Oxford Bibliographies- PhilosophyBibliographies on the subject of Philosophy
General Encyclopedias
Online Subject Specific Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Dictionary of Philosophical Terms and NamesConcise guide to terms and names that may be encountered while studying philosophy.
Encyclopedias in our collection
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Since 1967, the Encyclopedia of Philosophy, described by Booklist as the best and most comprehensive English-language reference source for philosophy, has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
ISBN: 9780028657806Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy 10V by Call Number: B51 .R68 1998 (Reference)ISBN: 0415073103Publication Date: 1998-05-26
Handbooks
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowDatabase that allows you to access handbooks on a variety of topics in philosophy.
What is a handbook?
Books that tend to summarize a specific topic. They may contain introductions or summaries to let you quickly understand the basics about a topic and include important and sometimes the most recent academic work on a topic. Examples of handbooks that can only be found in the library are below. Handbooks are also searchable via both FoxHunt and the database above.
The Oxford Handbook of Jurisprudence and Philosophy of Law by Call Number: K230 .O95 2012ISBN: 9780198298243Publication Date: 2002-04-25
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Race by
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy and Race provides up-to-date explanation and analyses by leading scholars of contemporary issues in African American philosophy and philosophy of race. These original essays encompass the major topics and approaches in this emerging philosophical subfield thatsupports demographic inclusion and diversity while at the same time strengthening the conceptual arsenal of social and political philosophy.Over the course of the volume's ten topic-based sections, ideas about race held by Locke, Hume, Kant, Hegel, and Nietzsche are supplemented by suppressed thought from the African diaspora, early twentieth-century African American perspectives and Native-, Asian-, and Latin-, American views. Thecontributors bring philosophical analysis to bear on the status of racial divisions as categories of humanity in the biological sciences, as well as within contemporary criticism and conceptual analysis. Essays present the special applications of American philosophy and continental philosophy toideas of race as methodological alternatives to more analytic approaches. As a collection of analyses and assessments of "race" in the real world, the volume pays trenchant and relevant attention to historical and contemporary racism and what it means to say that "race" and racial identities aresocially constructed.The essays analyze contemporary social issues including the importance of racial difference and identity in education, public health, medicine, IQ and other standardized tests, and sports. Additionally, the essays consider the societal limitations and structures provided by public policy and law. Asa critical theory, the volume compares the study of race to feminism. Historical and contemporary, academic and popular, racisms pertaining to male and female gender receive special consideration throughout the volume. While this comprehensive collection may have the effect of a textbook, each ofthe original essays is a fresh and authentic development of important present thought.
Call Number: HT1521 .O94 2017Publication Date: 2017
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Education by Call Number: LB14.7 .O93 2009ISBN: 9780195312881Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Handbook of Western Philosophy by Call Number: B804 .H17 1988ISBN: 0029495938Publication Date: 1988-04-01
Book Databases
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Free Book Databases
- Project Gutenberg Online Catalog This link opens in a new windowWant to read some philosophical classics? Check out Project Gutenberg, some philosophers included are, Neitzche, More, Plato, and many more.
- HathitrustDigitized copies of 19th century journals and books
Library of Congress Classification Numbers
Library of Congress Classification Numbers
|
Subject |
LOC Area |
| Philosophy (General) | B1-5802 |
| General Works |
B69-99 |
| Ancient Philosophy | B108-708 |
| Medieval Philosophy | B720-765 |
| Renaissance Philosophy | B770-785 |
| Modern | B790-5802 |
| Special Topics/ Schools of Philosophy | B808-849 |
| Philosophy by Region or Country | B850-5739 |
| Philosophy by Religion | B5800-5802 |
| Logic | BC1-199 |
| Speculative Philosophy | BD10-701 |