Skip to Main Content

Guest Resources Guide: Accessing Online Collections

Can I Access the Library's Subscription Databases?

Off Campus

Remote access to library's subscription databases is restricted to current students, staff, and faculty.  We cannot offer remote access to guests due to our contracts with database companies.  Librarians cannot download documents and email them to you.

On Campus

Visit the library to access most subscription databases.  You will need to sign into the Marist Guest WiFi on your laptop or a library computer to gain access. 

If you have questions about a specific database, please Ask-A-Librarian.

Can I Access the Wi-Fi?

Marist provides access to two different networks for guest and alumni use, Marist Guest WiFi and eduroam.

You can access it from your computer or use a computer in the library to access the WiFi.

To gain Internet access on your laptop: 

  1. Select the Marist Guest WiFi network from the list of available networks to open the Guest Registration browser.
  2. You will then need to enter an email address and then accept the Terms of Service and Acceptable Use, Conditions and Requirements policy to gain network access. Please note, network access will expire 24 hours from the time of registration.

To gain access through a library desktop computer:

  1. Unplug the ethernet cable connected to the computer. 
  2. In the bottom tool bar, find the internet options icon shaped like a computer. 
  3. In the list that opens click on Marist Guest WiFi and click on "Connect." 
  4. You will then need to enter an email address and then accept the Terms of Service and Acceptable Use, Conditions and Requirements policy to gain network access. Please note, network access will expire 24 hours from the time of registration.

If you are affiliated with another educational institution, you may have access to the WiFi through eduroam.  Check the list of schools below to see if you qualify.

You will then login to the eduroam network with the credentials provided by your home institution. 

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Help Desk at helpdesk@marist.edu or 1-845-575-4357(HELP). 

What Can I Access from Off Campus?

There are a number of open access databases and journals that you can use to find research and sources.  Here is a selection:

Visit this page to find more open access (free) resources:

You should also connect with your local library or state library.  Many of them provide access to databases and publications online and in print.  You also may be able to access resources available from your state library with a library card.

Freely Available Newspaper Archives

Contact

James A. Cannavino Library

3399 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 575-3106

In the Library