LibGuides: Asian-Pacific American Heritage: Reference

Getting Started

Research

Faculty Support

Using The Library

Marist Archives

Home (current)
Getting Started

My Accounts

Check what items you have out, when they are due, and renew them.

Hours

See the Library's hours for the week and month ahead.

Library Map

See maps of all three floors of the Library to find your way.

Staff Directory

Find Library staff who can assist you with your needs.

Policies

Learn about borrowing privileges and library policies for food and drink and collabortive room use.

FAQs

See list of frequently asked questions related to the library.

Student Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to students.

Student Athlete Resources

Learn about library services for student athletes.

Distance Learner Resources

Help accessing the library remotely and how to use library resources.

Study Abroad Resources

Help accessing library materials and services while studying abroad

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Research

Databases A-Z

Alphabetic list of library databases. Use Subject Guides for accessing materials on a particular subject.

Subject Guides

Resources, including databases and citation help, organized by major and/or subject.

Course Guides

Library Guides made specifically for courses, can include readings and more.

Course Reserves

Check here to see if there are materials on reserve for your class.

Reference Materials

Good sources to start your research like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.

Newspapers

Access to major and local newspapers including NYT, Wall Street Journal, etc.

Primary & Secondary Sources

Learn what they are and how to find them.

Find a Journal

Check library holdings for a journal by title.

Citation Help

Resources to help with citation in APA, Chicago, CSE, MLA, and more.

Research Help & How Tos

Guides to help use databases, create materials with your research, and more.

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Need something the library doesn’t own? Use these services to request it.

Special Topics Guides

Research guides about a particular topic or type of source.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

Research guides focused on diversity, equity & inclusion.

2024-2025 Common Read

The Library’s research guide for this year’s Common Read, Felix Ever After

Marist Archives

The Archives & Special Collections contain unique materials related to a variety of topics including Marist History. Resources are available online or stop by Library room 134 with questions.
Faculty Support

Faculty Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to faculty.

Contact a Subject Liaison

Find your liaison who can help with all your library needs.

Library Class Support

Instruction, Course Reserves, and many more ways librarians can support you and your students.

Request Course Reserves

Reserves Use this form to place your own or library materials on reserve for a course.

Suggest a Purchase

Use this form to suggest a purchase for the collection or in support of your course.

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Reserve a study room designated for faculty use

Library Spaces for Faculty

Learn about library spaces available for personal use or for your classes.
Using The Library

Study Spaces

Learn about the spaces on all three library floors.

Technology & Printing

Find out about the technology available in the library.

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve rooms for group work and study.

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Practice and record presentations with built in presentation screen and camera.

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Marist Archives
Ask a Librarian
My Accounts
Marist Resources

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home
Site Feedback

Online Resources

General reference tools that may contain appropriate information. Use advanced search to find all the ways to focus your search. Email yourself articles and lists of references.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History This link opens in a new window

Marist Reference Books

Asian American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia by Huping Ling; Allan W. Austin With overview essays and more than 400 A-Z entries, this exhaustive encyclopedia documents the history of Asians in America from earliest contact to the present day. Organized topically by group, with an in-depth overview essay on each group, the encyclopedia examines the myriad ethnic groups and histories that make up the Asian American population in the United States. "Asian American History and Culture" covers the political, social, and cultural history of immigrants from East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, the Pacific Islands, and their descendants, as well as the social and cultural issues faced by Asian American communities, families, and individuals in contemporary society. In addition to entries on various groups and cultures, the encyclopedia also includes articles on general topics such as parenting and child rearing, assimilation and acculturation, business, education, and literature. More than 100 images round out the set.
ISBN: 9780765680778
Publication Date: 2010-02-15
The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies by Cindy I-Fen Cheng (Editor) The Routledge Handbook of Asian American Studies brings together leading scholars and scholarship to capture the state of the field of Asian American Studies, as a generation of researchers have expanded the field with new paradigms and methodological tools. Inviting readers to consider new understandings of the historical work done in the past decades and the place of Asian Americans in a larger global context, this ground-breaking volume illuminates how research in the field of Asian American Studies has progressed. Previous work in the field has focused on establishing a place for Asian Americans within American history. This volume engages more contemporary research, which draws on new archives, art, literature, film, and music, to examine how Asian Americans are redefining their national identities, and to show how race interacts with gender, sexuality, class, and the built environment, to reveal the diversity of the United States. Organized into five parts, and addressing a multitude of interdisciplinary areas of interest to Asian American scholars, it covers: * a reframing of key themes such as transnationality, postcolonialism, and critical race theory * U.S. imperialism and its impact on Asian Americans * war and displacement * the garment industry * Asian Americans and sports * race and the built environment * social change and political participation * and many more themes. Exploring people, practice, politics, and places, this cutting-edge volume brings together the best themes current in Asian American Studies today, and is a vital reference for all researchers in the field.
ISBN: 1315817519
Publication Date: 2016-12-08
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by Gale Editors (Editor) This third edition of Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America updates the essays in the second edition on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. It will also add cultures not covered in the second edition. The Encyclopedia also includes ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers, names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations, and a list of suggestions for further reading. Includes 23 new ethnic groups and 152 revised ethnic entries. Approximately one-third of the essays will include a recipe for a traditional dish associated with that ethnic group. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Consistent headings throughout each essay will make information easy to find and invite comparisons, and full color photographs and illustrations will make the content more engaging. Each essay will also be accompanied by a map showing either historical or current population patterns in the United States for the ethnic group in question. Key Features 􀂃 Advisory board guided the content updating 􀂃 Each signed entry has been reviewed by a subject scholar for accuracy 􀂃 Engaging, beautiful images now in full color 􀂃 Traditional recipes accompany c. one third of the entries (new feature) 􀂃 Up-to-date census information and population maps 􀂃 Updated directory information 􀂃 23 new entries, 152 revised entries
ISBN: 9780787675509
Publication Date: 2014-04-11

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms