LibGuides: Israel and Gaza: Providing Context: Home

Getting Started

Research

Faculty Support

Using The Library

Marist Archives

Home (current)
Getting Started

My Accounts

Check what items you have out, when they are due, and renew them.

Hours

See the Library's hours for the week and month ahead.

Library Map

See maps of all three floors of the Library to find your way.

Staff Directory

Find Library staff who can assist you with your needs.

Policies

Learn about borrowing privileges and library policies for food and drink and collabortive room use.

FAQs

See list of frequently asked questions related to the library.

Student Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to students.

Student Athlete Resources

Learn about library services for student athletes.

Distance Learner Resources

Help accessing the library remotely and how to use library resources.

Study Abroad Resources

Help accessing library materials and services while studying abroad

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Research

Databases A-Z

Alphabetic list of library databases. Use Subject Guides for accessing materials on a particular subject.

Subject Guides

Resources, including databases and citation help, organized by major and/or subject.

Course Guides

Library Guides made specifically for courses, can include readings and more.

Course Reserves

Check here to see if there are materials on reserve for your class.

Reference Materials

Good sources to start your research like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.

Newspapers

Access to major and local newspapers including NYT, Wall Street Journal, etc.

Primary & Secondary Sources

Learn what they are and how to find them.

Find a Journal

Check library holdings for a journal by title.

Citation Help

Resources to help with citation in APA, Chicago, CSE, MLA, and more.

Research Help & How Tos

Guides to help use databases, create materials with your research, and more.

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Need something the library doesn’t own? Use these services to request it.

Special Topics Guides

Research guides about a particular topic or type of source.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

Research guides focused on diversity, equity & inclusion.

2024-2025 Common Read

The Library’s research guide for this year’s Common Read, Felix Ever After

Marist Archives

The Archives & Special Collections contain unique materials related to a variety of topics including Marist History. Resources are available online or stop by Library room 134 with questions.
Faculty Support

Faculty Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to faculty.

Contact a Subject Liaison

Find your liaison who can help with all your library needs.

Library Class Support

Instruction, Course Reserves, and many more ways librarians can support you and your students.

Request Course Reserves

Reserves Use this form to place your own or library materials on reserve for a course.

Suggest a Purchase

Use this form to suggest a purchase for the collection or in support of your course.

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Reserve a study room designated for faculty use

Library Spaces for Faculty

Learn about library spaces available for personal use or for your classes.
Using The Library

Study Spaces

Learn about the spaces on all three library floors.

Technology & Printing

Find out about the technology available in the library.

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve rooms for group work and study.

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Practice and record presentations with built in presentation screen and camera.

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Marist Archives
Ask a Librarian
My Accounts
Marist Resources

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home
Site Feedback

JSTOR Syllabus

Databases

CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
A news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
An online database that explores opposing sides of the most important issues

Lectures and Events

Friday 11/17, 11-12:30: Mindful Responses to Crisis and High Conflict, Brian Loh. This session will help us explore the power of being thoughtful and mindful in the midst of turmoil. SC3102&3103
Friday 12/1, 11-12:30: Navigating Difficult Dialogues, Edward Antonio. This is a skills-building session where you will learn effective communication strategies in contentious settings. SC 3101
Wednesday 12/6 2:30-4: Navigating the Media: Israel and Gaza, Kevin Lerner. In this session, you will gain insight into the media's role and influence in shaping perceptions and narratives in the current conflict. The Cabaret
Vigil, Wednesday 12/6, 4:30-5:30: The vigil will be a time of prayer, reflection and remembering. The Cabaret

Agreements, Accords and Treaties Throughout the Years

Sykes Picot Agreement Map signed 8 May 1916, from Wikimedia Commons

Redrawing the Middle East by Michael D. Berdine The Sykes-Picot Agreement was one of the defining moments in the history of the modern Middle East. Yet its co-creator, Sir Mark Sykes, had far more involvement in British Middle East strategy during World War I than the Agreement for which he is now most remembered. Between 1915 and 1916, Sykes was Lord Kitchener's agent at home and abroad, operating out of the War Office until the war secretary's death at sea in 1916. Following that, from 1916 to 1919 he worked at the Imperial War Cabinet, the War Cabinet Secretariat and, finally, as an advisorto the Foreign Office. The full extent of Sykes's work and influence has previously not been told. Moreover, the general impression given of him is at variance with the facts. Sykes led the negotiations with the Zionist leadership in the formulation of the Balfour Declaration, which he helped to write, and promoted their cause to achieve what he sought for a pro-British post-war Middle East peace settlement, although he was not himself a Zionist. Likewise, despite claims he championed the Arab cause, there is little proof of this other than general rhetoric mainly for public consumption. On the contrary, there is much evidence he routinely exhibited a complete lack of empathy with the Arabs. In this book, Michael Berdine examines the life of this impulsive and headstrong young British aristocrat who helped formulate many of Britain's policies in the Middle East that are responsible for much of the instability that has affected the region ever since.
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781788311946
Publication Date: 2018

Texts of the Sykes-Picot Agreement from The Avolon Project, Yale Law School
Kursun, Ali Murat. “Deconstructing the Sykes-Picot Myth: Frontiers, Boundaries, Borders and the Evolution of Ottoman Territoriality/Sykes-Picot Mitini Yikmak: Hatlar, Hudutlar, Sinirlar ve Osmanli Teritoryalitesinin Evrimi.” All Azimuth: A Journal of Fore
Fischbach, Michael R. "Lausanne Conference (1949)." Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, edited by Philip Mattar, 2nd ed., vol. 3, Macmillan Reference USA, 2004, pp. 1375-1376. Gale eBooks,
Khouri, Fred J. "United Nations Conciliation Commission for Palestine (UNCCP)." Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, edited by Philip Mattar, 2nd ed., vol. 4, Macmillan Reference USA, 2004, pp. 2284-2285. Gale eBooks.
Commission appointed to deal with the problem of dislocated Palestinians and to help reach a comprehensive peace settlement after the 1948 Arab–Israel War.
"Camp David Accords." The 1970s [1970-1979], edited by Michael Shally-Jensen, Salem Press/Grey House, 2016, pp. 116-122. Defining Documents in American History. Gale eBooks.
Peretz, Don. "Camp David Accords (1978)." Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, edited by Philip Mattar, 2nd ed., vol. 1, Macmillan Reference USA, 2004, pp. 560-561. Gale eBooks.
Agreements signed by Egypt, Israel, and the United States on 17 September 1978.
Pierpaoli, Paul G., Jr. "Israel-Jordan Peace Treaty." The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars: The United States in the Persian Gulf, Afghanistan, and Iraq Conflicts, edited by Spencer C. Tucker, vol. 2, ABC-CLIO, 2010, pp. 642-643. Gale eBooks.
A comprehensive peace accord between Israel and Jordan signed on October 26, 1994, at the border settlement of Wadi Arabah. Officially titled the “Treaty of Peace between the State of Israel and the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan,” the agreement settled longstanding territorial conflicts and fully normalized diplomatic and economic relations between the two states.

Podcasts

Wall Street Journal Podcasts: What's News: Israel-Hamas War: Your Questions Answered
November 11, 2023
15 min 45 sec.
New York TImes The Daily: 1948
November 3, 2023
43 min 07 sec.
As the Israeli-Palestinian conflict enters its darkest chapter in decades, both sides are evoking the same foundational moment in their past: the events of 1948.
BBC: Our Man in the Middle East
BBC Middle East Editor Jeremy Bowen presents a personal history of the Middle East.

25 Episodes Recorded in 2017.

International Law and Human Rights

World Human Rights Guide by Charles Humana (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Collection -Library use only. ; JC571 .H788 1992
Publication Date: 1992
Defining International Aggression: The Search for World Peace ; A Documentary History and Analysis by Benjamin B. Ferencz
Call Number: Reference Collection - Library use only. ; JX4471 .D43 1975
Publication Date: 1975
This two-volume set traces the effort to reach an understanding regarding which acts by states constitute international agression, thereby creating a standard of criminal responsibility .
Religious Freedom in the World by Paul A. Marshall (Editor) What would one do if suddenly happening upon those who know only of suffering and despair? For Lillybeth and Hinsberth, two precocious ducklings with a pound of curiosity and a ton of heart, the answer is: everything they can. Lillybeth and Hinsberth: The Edges of Things is an inspiring journey into the enduring power of hope and kindness, and the ability of the indomitable spirit granted by the bonds of love and friendship to overcome all barriers - and achieve the impossible. Introducing a cast of endearing, courageous and plucky characters who are never far from finding a good tug on the heartstrings, Lillybeth and Hinsberth: The Edges of Things is a timeless, heartwarming adventure that will leave you soaring. This beautiful tale is complemented by 22 original, hand drawn illustrations and cover art. http://www.rsmarkel.com
Call Number: Reference Collection - Library use only. ; BL640 .R44 2008
ISBN: 9780742562127
Publication Date: 2007

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms