Understanding what type of source you are looking at is important for a number of reasons
Below you will find common characteristics of sources from the library and internet to help you identify what type of source you have. If you need further help, contact a librarian.
After you looked at this guide, you're welcome to test your knowledge in the quiz below:
A database is a collection of materials, often put together because of their subject area or source type. For example the library has eBook and video databases, but we also have psychology and business databases, called subject databases.
Subject databases do not contain everything on a topic, but have often been created or curated by a publisher, organization, or particular company. For example,
Books and eBooks have
Library databases with eBooks: eBook Central, EbscoHost, JSTOR, Credo Reference, ABC-CLIO
Example Book Chapters
Theses and Dissertations
Newspaper & Magazine Articles
Reference Book Articles
Reference Databases: Britannica Academic, Gale eBooks, CQ Researcher, & Credo Reference
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints also offers reference articles, but its viewpoints that take a position on a topic vary in content type. Consult a librarian for help with this.
Journal Articles have
To learn more about journal articles, check out these guides:
For citation purposes, make sure you make it clear to your reader if you are using information from the entire website or just one page of the website.
Remember just because it is on a website, doesn't mean it is a website or a page of a website.
If you are referring to an image or video on the website, it is not a website. If you have a .gov or .org it may not be a website. See the Government Document/Organization Report section for more information.
Government Documents/Organization Reports
These can be found through the internet, eBook Central, and in Fox Hunt.
When dealing with these, it is best to refer to or cite the specific item that you are looking at and not the article or website where you found it. Treat it as a source on its own.
Have an idea for a tutorial that we should make next? Let us know!