Page Contents
Advertising
Online resources for the advertising industry, such as industry associations, Ad Age Datacenter and agency websites.
Professional Associations
- The American Association of Advertising AgenciesThe national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the United States. It is a management-oriented association that offers its members the broadest possible services, expertise and information regarding the advertising agency business.
- American Advertising FederationThe nation’s oldest national advertising trade association, and the only association representing all facets of the advertising industry,
- Advertising Women of New York (AWNY)Organization designed to serve as a catalyst for the advancement of women in the communication field
- Advertising Educational FoundationProvides educational content to enrich the understanding of advertising and its role in culture, society and the economy.
- The Advertising Research FoundationAn association where practitioners from every avenue of advertising – agency, academia, marketer, media, and research – gather to exchange ideas and research strategies.
Ad Agencies - Ad Age Datacenter
The Ad Age DataCenter contains current information about advertising spend for top brands. It also has Advertising Age's Agency Report, an annual ranking and analysis of advertising and marketing-services agencies. The report includes rankings based on U.S. and worldwide revenue. The Agency Report appears in Ad Age's print edition and in expanded form on AdAge.com. The online version includes Agency Family Trees, a database showing fast facts, executives, links and more content related to holdings of the world's 50 largest agency companies. Ad Age has published Agency Report every year since 1945.
Access Instructions:
Brand Advertising Spending: Select DataCenter from the top menu. Select “Marketers and Ad Spending” and in the dropdown menu select “U.S. Marketers and Ad Spending” and then "AdAge Leading National Advertisers". The most recent report will be available for download.
Agency Report: Select DataCenter from the top menu. Select “Agencies” from the DataCenter menu and select "Agency Report".
Agency Revenue Information: Select DataCenter from the top menu. Click on “Agencies” from the DataCenter menu and go to “Agency Family Trees”. Select the Agency Network of the Agency you are interested in. For example you would choose WPP if you wanted information on Ogilvy. Then find the agency and click on that. You will get revenue, fast facts and current news on that agency.
- AdAge DataCenter This link opens in a new windowAdvertising expenditures worldwide, market share by category and profiles of leading advertisers, media companies and advertising agencies. To access, please contact a Research librarian at this link.
Journals
Advertising AgeSearchable Full Text Database Access to Advertising Age including older issues. Full website access available through AdAge link above.
Historical Advertising
- Coca-Cola Television AdvertisementsFifty Years of Coca-Cola Television Advertisements: Highlights from the Motion Picture Archives at the Library of Congress
- Ad*AccessOver 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
- Emergence of AdvertisingImages relating to the early history of advertising in the United States. The materials include cookbooks, photographs of billboards, print advertisements, trade cards, calendars, almanacs, and leaflets for a multitude of products.
- AdViewsThousands of television commercials created or collected by the D'Arcy Masius Benton & Bowles (DMB&B) advertising agency, dated 1950s - 1980s.