Reference Materials: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Collins Spanish Dictionary gives you comprehensive coverage of both Spanish and English and the most up-to-date business, political, and Internet terms. Native Spanish and English speakers worked side by side to create a balanced treatment of both languages and to ensure authentic and appropriate translations.

An up-to-date dictionary and a user-friendly grammar guide in one handy volume. Colour headwords, cultural notes and an easy-to-use grammar section make this the ideal book for intermediate learners. Designed for all intermediate learners of French, whether at school, at home, or for business. 96,000 references and 136,000 translations will help those learning French take their language skills to the next level.

Authoritative, portable, and up-to-date, the new fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford German Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English.

Portable, authoritative, and up to date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Italian and English.

A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.

Includes information on more than 1,700 medical disorders. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics.

This highly acclaimed economics encyclopedia was first published in 1993 under the title The Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics. It features easy-to-read articles by over 150 top economists, including Nobel Prize winners, over 80 biographies of famous economists, and many tables and charts illustrating economics in action.

Provides students and researchers with a comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory. More than 300 entries address topics related not only to paradigms, traditions, and schools, but also metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts.