Gale Ebooks holds a small but useful collection of books including encyclopedias on religious practices and religion in America. A limiter for these books can be found on the left hand side in the limiters section.
Project Gutenberg has a collections on a variety of religions including, Baha'i, Buddhism, Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Paganism, as well as mythology and folklore free of charge. They can be found by going to the bookshelves section in the search and browse tab in the top left.
America's Religions by Peter W. WilliamsA classroom perennial and comprehensive guide, America's Religions lays out the background, beliefs, practices, and leaders of the nation's religious movements and denominations. The fourth edition, thoroughly revised and updated by Peter W. Williams, draws on the latest scholarship. In addition to reconsidering the history of America's mainline faiths, it delves into contemporary issues like religion's impact on politics and commerce; the increasingly high profile of Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam; Mormonism's entry into the mainstream; and battles over gay marriage and ordination.
Publication Date: 2015-10-30
The Religious Traditions of Asia by Joseph Kitagawa (Editor)This essential student textbook consists of seventeen sections, all written by leading scholars in their different fields. They cover all the religious traditions of Southwest Asia, Southeast Asia, Central Asia, Tibet, and East Asia. The major traditions that are described and discussed are (from the Southwest) Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, Sikhism and Islam, and (from the East) Taoism, Confucianism and Shinto. In addition, the tradition of Bon in Tibet, the shamanistic religions of Inner Asia, and general Chinese, Korean and Japanese religion are also given full coverage. The emphasis throughout is on clear description and analysis, rather than evaluation. Ten maps are provided to add to the usefulness of this book, which has its origin in the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Mircea Eliade of the University of Chicago.
New Age, Neopagan, and New Religious Movements by Hugh B. UrbanNew Age, Neopagan, and New Religious Movements is the most extensive study to date of modern American alternative spiritual currents. Hugh B. Urban covers a range of emerging religions from the mid-nineteenth century to the present, including the Nation of Islam, Mormonism, Scientology, ISKCON, Wicca, the Church of Satan, Peoples Temple, and the Branch Davidians. This essential text engages students by addressing major theoretical and methodological issues in the study of new religions and is organized to guide students in their learning. Each chapter focuses on one important issue involving a particular faith group, providing readers with examples that illustrate larger issues in the study of religion and American culture. Urban addresses such questions as, Why has there been such a tremendous proliferation of new spiritual forms in the past 150 years, even as our society has become increasingly rational, scientific, technological, and secular? Why has the United States become the heartland for the explosion of new religious movements? How do we deal with complex legal debates, such as the use of peyote by the Native American Church or the practice of plural marriage by some Mormon communities? And how do we navigate issues of religious freedom and privacy in an age of religious violence, terrorism, and government surveillance?
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions by Wendy DonigerA guide to the religions of the world and to the concepts, movements, people, and events that have shaped them. It includes features such as: entries on religious movements and concepts, historical and legendary figures, divinities, religious sites and ceremonies; images that show sacred places, vestments, rituals, objects, and texts; and more.
Publication Date: 2008-04-03
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices by Thomas Riggs (Editor)In 2, 800 pages across 4 volumes, Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, 2nd Edition, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. Volume 1, Religions and Denominations, contains 24-to-40-page entries on 13 major religions, such as Buddhism, Christianity and Islam, and 8-to-14 page entries on 28 religious denominations/sects, such as Tibetan Buddhism, Roman Catholicism and Shiism. Volumes 2, 3, and 4 focus on the significant religions practiced in 195 countries; entries range from 6-13 pages. Using the standardized rubric format of the Worldmark series, the entries provide easy access to information and encourage comparisons across different religions, religious groups, and countries. Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, 2nd Edition, features more than 725 color photographs and maps; a comparative table showing important facts about the 41 religions profiled; key-fact boxes; religious quotations; a glossary of terms; a chronology of events; a bibliography of general sources; and a comprehensive index.
Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Encyclopedia of ReligionAmong Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Encyclopedia of American Religious History by Edward L. Queen (Editor); Stephen R. Prothero; Gardiner H. ShattuckPraise for the previous edition:The writing is lively and easy to understand...This work will add a unique dimension to American history courses, particularly on the AP level.--School Library Journal ...highly recommended for general as well as academic collections.--Library Journal Entries are clearly and concisely written and nonpartisan in tone...a fine resource covering issues germane not just to churches and the devout but to U.S. culture and society at large.--BooklistThis timely reference guide reflects the significant issues and the current state of American religious history. In hundreds of thoughtful, informative entries, Encyclopedia of American Religious History, Fourth Edition outlines the numerous philosophers, personalities, social issues, and cultural histories of religious practices throughout American history. Special emphasis is placed on recent developments in religious life in this country and the historical contributions of people long neglected by mainstream religious historians, including African Americans, Native Americans, and women. In addition, an expanded introduction gives students a narrative historical overview of religion in America.Entries include:AbortionAmerican Civil Liberties UnionAnabaptistsDaniel and Philip BerriganCircuit ridesCouncil on American-Islamic RelationsFaith-based initiativesFundamentalismHomosexualityL. Ron HubbardIslamismMegachurchesJohn Paul IIPolitics and religionReligious rightSanctuary movementSeptember 11, 2001SufismTechnologyUnited States Catholic conferenceWahhabismWar and religionWiccaWomen and religion. ul style=color: #333333; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11
Encyclopedia of African Religion by Molefi Kete Asante (Editor); Ama Mazama (Editor)"Numerous titles focusing on particular beliefs in Africa exist, including Marcel Griaule′s Conversations with Ogotemmeli, but this one presents an unparallelled exploration of a multitude of cultures and experiences.It is both a gateway to deeper exploration and a penetrating resource on its own. This is bound to become the definitive scholarly resource on African religions." -- Library Journal, Starred Review"Overall, because of its singular focus, reliability, and scope, this encyclopedia will prove invaluable where there is considerable interest in Africa or in different religious traditions."-Library Journal As the first comprehensive work to assemble ideas, concepts, discourses, and extensive essays in this vital area, the Encyclopedia of African Religion explores such topics as deities and divinities, the nature of humanity, the end of life, the conquest of fear, and the quest for attainment of harmony with nature and other humans. Editors Molefi Kete Asante and Ama Mazama include nearly 500 entries that seek to rediscover the original beauty and majesty of African religion. Features · Offers the best representation to date of the African response to the sacred · Helps readers grasp the enormity of Africa′s contribution to religious ideas by presenting richly textured concepts of spirituality, ritual, and initiation while simultaneously advancing new theological categories, cosmological narratives, and ways to conceptualize ethical behavior · Provides readers with new metaphors, figures of speech, modes of reasoning, etymologies, analogies, and cosmogonies · Reveals the complexity, texture, and rhythms of the African religious tradition to provide scholars with a baseline for future works The Encyclopedia of African Religion is intended for undergraduate and graduate students in fields such as Religion, Africana Studies, Sociology, and Philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Global Religion by Mark Juergensmeyer (Editor); Wade Clark Roof (Editor)The multi-volumeEncyclopedia of Global Religionprovides a comprehensive overview of the globalization of religious culture and society around the world in both its historical and contemporary aspects. The encyclopedia includes topics related to the diaspora of cultures and dispersions of peoples; the transitional aspects of religious ideas and practices; the cultural diversity of religious traditions; and the responses of religion--both negative and positive--to multicultural society. The volumes include essays on the contemporary religious society of every country in the world. The contributors to the encyclopedia are leading authorities on these topics from around the world. The editors, Mark Juergensmeyer and Wade Clark Roof., are sociologists of religion at the University of California, Santa Barbara.
Publication Date: 2011-10-18
Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion by Bernard J. VerkampThis title addresses and examines the religious affiliations and beliefs of prominent contemporary philosophers. The author profiles 150 such philosophers in separate entries, providing biographical information on his subjects, as well as on their religious upbringing, practice and beliefs.
Publication Date: 2008-08-13
Call Numbers- Marist Physical Stacks
Call numbers can be useful when browsing the physical stacks at Marist. Knowing which sections fit your interests can help you find resources you did not even know to look for.