It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A completely revised and updated version of the original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors and contributors from the scientific community.
Provides a detailed, global overview of insects and their close relatives, including taxonomy, behavior, ecology, physiology, history, and management. It covers all the major groups of arthropods, as well as many important families and individual species. The encyclopedia also covers physiology, genetics, ecology, behavior, insect relationships with people, medical entomology, and pest management.
An online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. Thousands of species accounts about individual animal species. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy.
An internet resource created in response to demand from the scientific community, policy makers and information specialists for a single comprehensive bibliographic information resource on climate change and other influences of humans on the biosphere.
A global database of fish species. Provides comprehensive species data, including information on taxonomy, geographical distribution, biometrics and morphology, behaviour and habitats, ecology and population dynamics as well as reproductive, metabolic and genetic data.
A unique global compilation of knowledge on forestry, ideal for practical decision-making. It comprises
detailed datasheets of tropical, subtropical, temperate and boreal tree species of major economic importance, and lesser-known
species of local importance. It also covers, in detail, many of the pests that damage these trees. As a reference tool, it provides a basis
for informed selection of woody species for a variety of uses, including for trials in plantation, agroforestry and natural forest systems.
An encyclopedic resource that draws together scientific information on all aspects of invasive species. It comprises detailed datasheets that have been sourced from experts, edited by CABI's scientific staff, peer-reviewed, enhanced with data from specialist organizations, and with images and maps, and linked to a bibliographic database.
An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada. Explorer includes particularly in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.
These conservation guides are designed to help land managers, decision-makers, planners, scientists, consultants, and the interested public better understand the rare species and natural communities that characterize New York.