Skip to Main Content

Getting Started

Research

Faculty Support

Using The Library

Marist Archives

Home (current)
Getting Started

My Accounts

Check what items you have out, when they are due, and renew them.

Hours

See the Library's hours for the week and month ahead.

Library Map

See maps of all three floors of the Library to find your way.

Staff Directory

Find Library staff who can assist you with your needs.

Policies

Learn about borrowing privileges and library policies for food and drink and collabortive room use.

FAQs

See list of frequently asked questions related to the library.

Student Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to students.

Student Athlete Resources

Learn about library services for student athletes.

Distance Learner Resources

Help accessing the library remotely and how to use library resources.

Study Abroad Resources

Help accessing library materials and services while studying abroad

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Research

Databases A-Z

Alphabetic list of library databases. Use Subject Guides for accessing materials on a particular subject.

Subject Guides

Resources, including databases and citation help, organized by major and/or subject.

Course Guides

Library Guides made specifically for courses, can include readings and more.

Course Reserves

Check here to see if there are materials on reserve for your class.

Reference Materials

Good sources to start your research like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.

Newspapers

Access to major and local newspapers including NYT, Wall Street Journal, etc.

Primary & Secondary Sources

Learn what they are and how to find them.

Find a Journal

Check library holdings for a journal by title.

Citation Help

Resources to help with citation in APA, Chicago, CSE, MLA, and more.

Research Help & How Tos

Guides to help use databases, create materials with your research, and more.

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Need something the library doesn’t own? Use these services to request it.

Special Topics Guides

Research guides about a particular topic or type of source.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

Research guides focused on diversity, equity & inclusion.

2024-2025 Common Read

The Library’s research guide for this year’s Common Read, Felix Ever After

Marist Archives

The Archives & Special Collections contain unique materials related to a variety of topics including Marist History. Resources are available online or stop by Library room 134 with questions.
Faculty Support

Faculty Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to faculty.

Contact a Subject Liaison

Find your liaison who can help with all your library needs.

Library Class Support

Instruction, Course Reserves, and many more ways librarians can support you and your students.

Request Course Reserves

Reserves Use this form to place your own or library materials on reserve for a course.

Suggest a Purchase

Use this form to suggest a purchase for the collection or in support of your course.

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Reserve a study room designated for faculty use

Library Spaces for Faculty

Learn about library spaces available for personal use or for your classes.
Using The Library

Study Spaces

Learn about the spaces on all three library floors.

Technology & Printing

Find out about the technology available in the library.

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve rooms for group work and study.

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Practice and record presentations with built in presentation screen and camera.

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Marist Archives
Ask a Librarian
My Accounts
Marist Resources

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home
Site Feedback

Nineteenth Century Periodicals: United Kingdom

A guide to 19th century periodicals available through Marist Library as well as online

U. K. Journals

Journal Title (run dates), dates available online.

Abstracts of the Papers Communicated to the Royal Society of London (1843-1854),1843-1854 Continues Abstracts of the Papers Printed in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London and Continued by Proceedings of the Royal Society of London.
Abstracts of the Papers Printed in the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London (1800-1843), 1800-1843 Continued by Abstracts of the Papers Communicated to the Royal Society of London.
Agriculture (1894-1972), 1894-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
All the Year Round (1859-1895), 1859-1895 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
The Annual Register (1758-present), 1800-1899
Anthropological Review (1863-1870), 1863-1870 Continued by Journal of Anthropology.
Association Medical Journal (1853-1856), 1853-1856
The Assurance Magazine (1851-1852), 1851-1852
The Assurance Magazine, and Journal of the Institute of Actuaries (1853-1866), 1853-1866 Continues The Assurance Magazine and continued by Journal of the Institute of Actuaries.
The Athenaeum (1828-1921), 1828, 1830, 1840-1847, 1849-1853, 1855, 1857-1866, 1870, 1872, 1874-1895, 1897-1899 This presents search results from HathiTrust, all dates listed in the link can be accessed from these search results.
Aunt Judy's Magazine for Young People (1866-1885), 1866-1873 Compiled into volumes called Aunt Judy's Annual.
Aunt Judy's Magazine for Young People (1866-1885), 1884-1885 Compiled into volumes called Aunt Judy's Annual.
The Australian and New Zealand Monthly Magazine (1842), 1842
Belgravia: A London Magazine (1866-1899), 1866-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
La Belle Assemblee (1806-1832), 1806, 1809-1812, 1814, 1816-1832 (some volumes missing)
La Belle Assemblee (1806-1832), 1807
The Bookman (1891-1934),1891-1892, 1893, 1895-1896, 1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Boys of England (1866-1899), 1869
British Medical Journal (1857-1980), 1857-1899
The British Journal of Nursing, Incorporating the Nursing Record (1888-1956), 1888-1899
The Builder (1843-1966), 1843-1888, 1889-1896, 1897-1898 January-June 1888 missing, July-December 1896 missing, all of 1899 missing.
The Cambro-Briton (1819-1822), 1819-1822
Chapman’s Magazine of Fiction (1895-1898), 1895-1898 Volumes 4 and 9 missing. MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Chatterbox (1866-1955), 1867-1869, 1871-1875,1877-1882, 1884-1885, 1887, 1889-1891, 1894-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes. This was published in both the US and UK so there are some issues that are from London and some from New York, some may also be unauthorized issues. Some volumes are missing.
The Christian Remembrancer (1819-1868), 1822, 1824, 1841-1868 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
The Classical Review (1887-present), 1887-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
The Comic Annual (1830-1842), 1830-1839, 1842 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes. There were no issues published 1840-1841.
Contemporary Review (1866-present), 1866-1870 (v.13), 1870 (v.15)-1899
Cornhill Magazine (1860-1975), 1861-1869, 1871-1889, 1892, 1896-1899 Some volumes missing. MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
The Court Magazine and Belle Assemblée (1832-1837), 1833, 1837 This magazine succeeded La Belle Assemblee.
The Court Magazine and Belle Assemblée (1832-1837), 1834, 1836 These are in the record for The Court Magazine and Monthly Critic at HathiTrust, they are the last 2 links in the list. This magazine succeeded La Belle Assemblee.
The Court Magazine and Monthly Critic (1837-18??) 1839-1846 (some volumes missing) This magazine succeeded The Court Magazine and Belle Assemblee.
The Critic, London Literary Journal (1850-1863), 1851
The Dublin Review (1836-1969), 1836-1899
The Eagle and the Serpent: A Journal of Egoistic Philosophy and Sociology (1898-1902), 1898-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS
The Economic Journal (1891-present), 1891-1899
The English Catalogue of Books (1864-1968), 1864-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes. This journal lists all books published in the United Kingdom. The first volume published in 1864 covered books 1835-1863. Later a volume was published that covered 1801-1835.
The English Historical Review (1886-present), 1886-1899
English Woman’s Journal (1858-1864), 1858-1864
Fabian Tracts (1884-1990), 1884-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
The Farmer’s Magazine (English) (1834-1881), 1834-1838, 1840-1844, 1846-1851, 1857-1862, 1864-1881, some volumes missing
The Farmer's Magazine (English) (1834-1881), 1839, 1845, 1852-1856, 1863, 1867
Fisher's Colonial Magazine and Journal of Trade, Commerce, and Banking (1844-1845), 1844-1845
Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book (1836-1839), 1836 From 1836-1839 frequently called Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book after the editor during that time. Later shortened to Juvenile Scrap-Book.
Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book (1836-1839), 1837 From 1836-1839 frequently called Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book after the editor during that time. Later shortened to Juvenile Scrap-Book.
Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book (1836-1839), 1838 From 1836-1839 frequently called Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book after the editor during that time. Later shortened to Juvenile Scrap-Book.
Folklore (1890-present), 1890-1899 Continues The Folk-Lore Journal.
The Folk-Lore Journal (1883-1889), 1883-1889 Continues The Folk-Lore Record and continued by Folklore.
The Folk-Lore Record (1878-1882), 1878-1882 Continued by The Folk-Lore Journal.
Fortnightly Review (1865-1954), 1865-1899 (some volumes missing)
Fortnightly Review (1865-1954), 1867-1899 (some volumes missing) This links to another record that has some of the volumes listed in the other link and some of the missing volumes from the other link.
Freedom (1886-present), 1886-1891
The Gardener's Magazine and Register of Rural and Domestic Improvement (1826-1844), 1826-1829, 1831-1833, 1837-1843
The Gardener's Magazine and Register of Rural and Domestic Improvement (1826-1844), 1835-1836
The Gazette of Fashion and Magazine of Fine Arts and Belle Lettres (1822-?), February 1822
The Gentleman’s Magazine (1731-1907), 1800-1899
The Geographical Journal (1893-present), 1893-1899 Continues Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society and Monthly Record of Geography.
The Germ (1850), 1850 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
Household Narrative of Current Events (1850-1855), 1850-1855 Supplement to Household Words
Household Words (1850-1859), 1850-1859 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes. The publication ran until 1859, published by Charles Dickens and was revived in the 1880s by Charles Dickens Jr..
Household Words (1881-1905), 1881-1884 The publication ran until 1859, published by Charles Dickens and was revived in the 1880s by Charles Dickens Jr.. MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS
The Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (1872-1906), 1872-1899 The Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland is the union of: The Journal of the Ethnological Society of London, Journal of Anthropology, and Journal of the Anthropological Society of London. Continued by The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland.
Journal of the Anthropological Society of London (1864-1870), 1864-1870 Continues Transactions of the Anthropological Society of London Journal of the Anthropological Society of London merged with: The Journal of the Ethnological Society of London and Journal of Anthropology to form The Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland.
Journal of Design and Manufactures (1849-1852), 1849-1852
Journal of the Ethnological Society of London (1848-1856), 1848-1856 Continued by Transactions of the Ethnological Society of London
The Journal of the Ethnological Society of London (1869-1870), 1869-1870 Continues Transactions of the Ethnological Society of London. The Journal of the Ethnological Society of London merged with: Journal of Anthropology and Journal of the Anthropological Society of London to form The Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland.
The Journal of Hellenic Studies (1880-present), 1880-1899
Journal of the Institute of Actuaries (1866-1867), 1866-1867 Continues The Assurance Magazine, and Journal of the Institute of Actuaries and continued by Journal of the Institute of Actuaries and Assurance Magazine.
Journal of the Institute of Actuaries and Assurance Magazine (1867-1885), 1867-1869 Continues Journal of the Institute of Actuaries and Continued by Journal of the Institute of Actuaries.
The Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland (1834-1990), 1835-1865 Continues Transactions of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland and continued by Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society. The content for Vol. 1 (1834) will be released as soon as the issues become available to JSTOR.
Journal of the Royal Geographical Society of London (1831-1880), 1831-1880 Absorbed by Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society and Monthly Record of Geography as of 1880 (Vol. 2)
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society (1887-1947), 1887-1899 Continues Journal of the Statistical Society of London and continued by Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series A (General).
The Journal of the Society of Arts (1852-1908), 1852-1869 Continues Transactions of the Society, Instituted at London, for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures, and Commerce and continued by Journal of the Royal Society of Arts.
Journal of the Statistical Society of London (1838-1886), 1838-1886 Continues Proceedings of the Statistical Society of London and Continued by Journal of the Royal Statistical Society
The Juvenile Forget-Me-Not (1829-1837), 1830-1831, 1833-1834, 1836, 1837
The Juvenile Missionary Magazine (1844-1887), 1844-1854
The Juvenile Scrap-Book (1840-1850), 1844 Originally titled Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book, shortened to The Juvenile Scrap-Book in 1840.
The Juvenile Scrap-Book (1840-1850), 1846 Originally titled Fisher's Juvenile Scrap-Book, shortened to The Juvenile Scrap-Book in 1840.
The Keepsake (1828-1857), 1828, 1830-1834, 1836-1837, 1839-1842, 1844, 1846-1847, 1851-1852, 1855
The Keepsake (1828-1857), 1829, 1845
The Keepsake (1828-1857), 1835-1836, 1838, 1843, 1848, 1854, 1857
Kind Words for Boys and Girls (1866-1879), 1866
Kingston's Magazine for Boys (1859?-1862?), 1860-1861
The Ladies' Cabinet of Fashion, Music and Romance (1832-1870), 1841
The Ladies' Cabinet of Fashion, Music and Romance (1832-1870), 1844-1848
The Ladies’ Companion and Monthly Magazine (1850-1???) 1852-1866
The Lady's Magazine and Museum (1832-1837), January-June 1837
The Library (1889-present), 1889-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Little Folks (1871-1933), 1871-1874
Little Folks (1871-1933), 1879, 1883
Little Folks (1871-1933), 1884
London Journal of Medicine (1849-1852), 1849-1852
The London Magazine (1732-1784?, 1820-1829, 1954-present), 1821, 1823-1829 This magazine has been revived several times by different publishers as reflected by the date ranges in the link.
Mind (1876-present), 1876-1899 Philosophy Journal
The Mirror of Literature, Amusement and Instruction (1822-1849), 1822-1849, some volumes missing This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
Monthly Repository of Theology and General Literature (1806-1838), 1806-1837
Murray's Magazine (1887-1891), 1887-1891
The Musical Times and Singing Class Circular (1844-1902), 1844-1899 Continued by The Musical Times.
Nature (1869-present), 1869-1878, 1880-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
New Australia: The Journal of the New Australia Co-Operative Settlement Association (1892-1894), 1892-1894
The New Monthly Belle Assemblee (1834-1870?), 1836-1837, 1839-1841, 1846
The New Monthly Belle Assemblee (1834-1870?), 1843
The New Monthly Belle Assemblee (1834-1870?), 1844
The New Monthly Belle Assemblee (1834-1870?), 1849
The New Monthly Belle Assemblee (1834-1870?), 1850
The New Monthly Belle Assemblee (1834-1870?), 1851

The Nineteenth Century (1877-1900), 1877(v.1), 1878(v.4), 1879-1880, 1886-1887(v.21), 1888(v.24), 1889(v.26)-1890 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
The Nineteenth Century (1877-1900), 1877(v.2), 1880(v.8)-1882(v.12), 1884, 1887(v.22)-1891(v.29), 1892(v.31)-1894(v.36), 1894(v.39)-1897(v.42), 1898(v.44)-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS
Notes and Queries (1849-present), 1849-1899
The Outlook (UK) (1898-1920), 1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Pearson’s Magazine (UK version) (1896-1939), 1896-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London (1665-1887), 1800-1886 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London Series A (1887-present), 1887-1899 Successor to the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London. MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London, Series B (1887-present), 1887-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
Proceedings of the Musical Association (1874-1943), 1874-1899 Continued by Proceedings of the Royal Musical Association.
Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society of London (1855-1878), 1857-1878 Continued by Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society and Monthly Record of Geography. The content for Vol. 1 (1855/1857) will be released as soon as the issue becomes available to JSTOR.
Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society and Monthly Record of Geography (1879-1892), 1879-1892 Continues Proceedings of the Royal Geographical Society of London, in 1880, absorbs Journal of the Royal Geographical Society of London, and Continued by The Geographical Journal.
Proceedings of the Royal Society of London (1854-1904), 1854-1870 Continues Abstracts of the Papers Communicated to the Royal Society of London and Proceedings of the Royal Society of London split into: Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series A, Containing Papers of a Mathematical and Physical Character and Proceedings of the Royal Society of London. Series B, Containing Papers of a Biological Character.
Proceedings of the Statistical Society of London (1834-1837), 1834-1837 Continued by Journal of the Statistical Society of London.
The Publishers’ Circular (1837-1959), 1880-1890
Punch (1841-1992), 1841-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
Quarterly Review (1809-1967), 1809
The Review of Reviews (UK edition) (1890-1940), 1890-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Routledge's Every Boy's Annual (1863-1883), 1864, 1866-1869, 1875, 1879, 1881
Routledge's Every Girl's Annual (1878-1888), 1879, 1881, 1886

The Spectator (1828-present), 1838-1852, 1855-1862, 1864-1865, 1867, 1869-1874, 1876, 1878-1881, 1883-1884, 1886-1888, 1890, 1891-1896, 1898-1899
Sporting Life (1859-present), 1885-1899
The Strand Magazine (1891-1950), 1891-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
Sunday Reading for the Young (UK) (1872-1917?), 1891
The Tomahawk (1867-1870), 1867-1870
Transactions of the Anthropological Society of London (1863), 1863 Continued by Journal of the Anthropological Society of London.
Transactions of the Ethnological Society of London (1861-1869), 1861-1869 Continues Journal of the Ethnological Society of London and continued by The Journal of the Ethnological Society of London.
Transactions of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland (1824-1834), 1824-1834 Continued by The Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland.
Unitarian Chronicle (1832-1833), 1832-1833 Supplement to the Monthly Repository.
The Windsor Magazine (1895-1939), 1895-1899 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
The Yellow Book (1894-1897), 1894-1897 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.

Journal Title (run dates), dates available online.

The Belfast Magazine and Literary Journal (1825), 1825
The Belfast Monthly Magazine (1808-1814), 1808-1814
The Catholic Layman (1852-1858), 1852-1858
The Dublin Literary Gazette (1830), 1830 Continued by The National Magazine.
The Dublin Penny Journal (1832-1836), 1832-1836
The Hibernia Magazine, and Dublin Monthly Panorama (1810-1811), 1810-1811
Irish Magazine and Monthly Asylum for Neglected Biography (1807-1815), 1807-1808
Irish Magazine and Monthly Asylum for Neglected Biography (1807-1815), 1809-1812
The Irish Monthly (1873-1954), 1873-1899 MAY NOT WORK ON CAMPUS.
The Irish Penny Journal (1840-1841), 1840-1841
The Irish Tribune (1848), 1848
The Journal of the Historical and Archaeological Association of Ireland (1868-1869), 1868-1869 Continues The Journal of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society and continued by The Journal of the Royal Historical and Archaeological Association of Ireland.
The Journal of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society (1856-1867), 1856-1867 Continues Proceedings and Transactions of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society and continued by The Journal of the Historical and Archaeological Association of Ireland.
Journal of the Statistical and Social Inquiry Society of Ireland (1847-present), 1847-1899

The National Magazine (1830-1831), 1830-1831 Continues The Dublin Literary Gazette.
Proceedings and Transactions of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society (1854-1855), 1854-1855 Continues Transactions of the Kilkenny Archaeological Society and Continued by The Journal of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society.
Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy (1836-1869), 1836-1869 Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy (1836-1869) split into: Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy. Polite Literature and Antiquities and Proceedings of the Royal Irish Academy. Science.
Transactions of the Kilkenny Archaeological Society (1850-1853), 1850-1853 Continued by Proceedings and Transactions of the Kilkenny and South-East of Ireland Archaeological Society.
The Transactions of the Royal Irish Academy (1787-1907), 1800-1856
Ulster Journal of Archaeology (1853-1862), 1853-1862, 1894-1899
Walker’s Hibernian Magazine (1771-1811), 1800-1811

Journal Title (run dates), dates available online.

Archaeologia Scotica (1792-1890), 1822, 1831, 1857, 1890
Blackwood’s Edinburgh Magazine (1817-1905), 1817-1899
The Bulwark (1851-present), 1851-1863 This presents a list of sites, compiled by UPenn, that offer access to these volumes.
Edinburgh Review or Critical Journal (1802-1929), 1802-1899
The Farmer’s Magazine (Scottish) (1800-1825), 1800-1820, 1824-1825
Proceedings of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland (1851-present), 1851-1899

Contact

James A. Cannavino Library

3399 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 575-3106

In the Library