LibGuides: Hispanic Heritage: Reference

Getting Started

Research

Faculty Support

Using The Library

Marist Archives

Home (current)
Getting Started

My Accounts

Check what items you have out, when they are due, and renew them.

Hours

See the Library's hours for the week and month ahead.

Library Map

See maps of all three floors of the Library to find your way.

Staff Directory

Find Library staff who can assist you with your needs.

Policies

Learn about borrowing privileges and library policies for food and drink and collabortive room use.

FAQs

See list of frequently asked questions related to the library.

Student Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to students.

Student Athlete Resources

Learn about library services for student athletes.

Distance Learner Resources

Help accessing the library remotely and how to use library resources.

Study Abroad Resources

Help accessing library materials and services while studying abroad

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Research

Databases A-Z

Alphabetic list of library databases. Use Subject Guides for accessing materials on a particular subject.

Subject Guides

Resources, including databases and citation help, organized by major and/or subject.

Course Guides

Library Guides made specifically for courses, can include readings and more.

Course Reserves

Check here to see if there are materials on reserve for your class.

Reference Materials

Good sources to start your research like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more.

Newspapers

Access to major and local newspapers including NYT, Wall Street Journal, etc.

Primary & Secondary Sources

Learn what they are and how to find them.

Find a Journal

Check library holdings for a journal by title.

Citation Help

Resources to help with citation in APA, Chicago, CSE, MLA, and more.

Research Help & How Tos

Guides to help use databases, create materials with your research, and more.

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Need something the library doesn’t own? Use these services to request it.

Special Topics Guides

Research guides about a particular topic or type of source.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

Research guides focused on diversity, equity & inclusion.

2024-2025 Common Read

The Library’s research guide for this year’s Common Read, Felix Ever After

Marist Archives

The Archives & Special Collections contain unique materials related to a variety of topics including Marist History. Resources are available online or stop by Library room 134 with questions.
Faculty Support

Faculty Support & Services

Learn about resources and services available to faculty.

Contact a Subject Liaison

Find your liaison who can help with all your library needs.

Library Class Support

Instruction, Course Reserves, and many more ways librarians can support you and your students.

Request Course Reserves

Reserves Use this form to place your own or library materials on reserve for a course.

Suggest a Purchase

Use this form to suggest a purchase for the collection or in support of your course.

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Reserve a study room designated for faculty use

Library Spaces for Faculty

Learn about library spaces available for personal use or for your classes.
Using The Library

Study Spaces

Learn about the spaces on all three library floors.

Technology & Printing

Find out about the technology available in the library.

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve rooms for group work and study.

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Practice and record presentations with built in presentation screen and camera.

Guest Access

Learn about resources and services available to guests.

Alumni Access

Learn about resources and services available to alumni.
Marist Archives
Ask a Librarian
My Accounts
Marist Resources

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home
Site Feedback

Online Resources

General reference tools that may contain appropriate information. Use advanced search to find all the ways to focus your search. Email yourself articles and lists of references.

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window

Britannica Academic - Latin American literature

Print Resources

The Hispanic Databook by David Garoogian (General Editor) The Hispanic Databook takes a detailed look at this growing population and offers statistics on 15 topics for all 23 Hispanic origins. Raw data for this information comes from Census 2010. Our editors have spent countless hours working and reworking the n
Call Number: E184.S75 H567 2004
Hispanic Literature of the United States by Nicolás Kanellos Providing a detailed historical overview of Hispanic literature in the United States from the Spanish colonial period to the present, this extensive chronology provides the context within which such writers as Sandra Cisneros, Rodolfo Anaya, and Oscar Hijuelos have worked. Hispanic literature in the United States is covered from the Spanish colonial period to the present. A detailed historical overview and a separate survey of Hispanic drama provide researchers and general readers with indispensable information and insight into Hispanic literature. An extensive chronology traces the development of Hispanic literature and culture in the United States from 1492 to 2002, providing the context within which such Hispanic writers such as Sandra Cisneros, Rodolfo Anaya, and Oscar Hijuelos have worked. Topics include an overview and chronology of Hispanic literature in the United States, a who's who of Hispanic authors, significant trends, movements, and themes, publishing trends, an overview of Hispanic drama, adn the 100 essential Hispanic literary works. Biographical entries describe the careers, importance, and major works of notable Hispanic novelists, poets, and playwrights writing in English or Spanish. A comprehensive, up-to-date bibliography lists primary sources. Essays detail the most important past and current trends in Hispanic literature, including bilingualism, Chicano literature, children's literature, exile literature, folklore, immigrant literature, Nuyorican literature, poetry, and women and feminism in Hispanic literature. More than 100 exceptional illustrations of writers, plays in performance, and first editions of important works are included.
Call Number: PS153.H56 K36 2003
The Oxford Book of Latin American Poetry by Cecilia Vicuña (Editor); Ernesto Livon Grosman (Editor) Here is the first anthology to present a full range of multilingual poetries from Latin America, covering over 500 years of a poetic tradition as varied, robust, and vividly imaginative as any in the world. Editors Cecilia Vicu~na and Ernesto Livon-Grosman present a fresh and expansive selection of Latin American poetry, from the indigenous responses to the European conquest, through early feminist poetry of the 19th century, the early 20th century "Modernismo" and "Vanguardia" movements, laterrevolutionary and liberation poetry of the 1960s, right up to the experimental, visual and oral poetries being written and performed today. Here readers will find several types of poetry typically overlooked in major anthologies, such as works written or chanted in their native languages, thevibrant mestizo (mixed) creations derived from the rich matrix of spoken language in Latin America, and even the mysterious verses written in made-up languages. In addition to the giants of Latin American poetry, such as Cesar Vallejo, Vicente Huidobro, Pablo Neruda, Octavio Paz, Haroldo and Augustode Campos, and Gabriela Mistral, the editors have included a selection of vital but lesser known poets such as Pablo de Rohka, Blanca Varela, and Cecilia Meireles, as well as previously untranslated works by Simo n Rodriguez, Bartolome Hidalgo, Oliverio Girondo, Rosa Araneda, and many others. Inall, the anthology presents more than 120 poets, many in new translations-by poets such as Jerome Rothengerg, W.S. Merwin, and Forrest Gander-specially commissioned for this anthology, and each accompanied by a biographical note. The book features both English and original language versions of thepoems, a full bibliography, and an introduction by the editors. Sure to stand as the definitive anthology for decades to come, The Oxford Book of Latin American Poetry remaps the territory, offering new ways of looking at a poetry as diverse and complex as Latin America itself.
Call Number: PQ7087.E5 O897 2009
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Suzanne Oboler (Editor); Deena J. González (Editor) A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author. Essential for scholarly and professional researchers as well as the classroom and library, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States will fill a void in the historical scholarship of an under-served population.
Call Number: E184.S75 O97 2005

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms