Skip to Main Content

ENG119: Intermediate Writing for College--Murphy: Scholarly vs. Popular

Why Use Scholarly Journal Articles?

  • Written and reviewed by expert scholars
  • Articles contain original research that enhance the field of study
  • Arguments are supported by evidence and findings of other scholars
  • Quality and accuracy are assesed through the peer-review process

What kind of article is this?

Scholarly Journals

Popular Journals/Magazines

Professional or Trade Journals

Purpose

Reports on original research & analysis done by scholars and experts in the field.

Entertains or informs without a lot of technical detail.  (news, opinion, special interests)

Shares information about new products or techniques useful to people in a particular field or profession.

Authors

Primarily experts (peers) in the field, university researchers, scholars, etc.

 Journalists, freelance writers, or an editorial staff.

Specialists in a certain field or profession or an editorial staff.

Audience

People with knowledge of the topic such as professors, researchers, scholars & students.

General population or people with special interests.

Professionals in a particular field. 

Appearance

Usually bland cover design, few advertisements, & frequently includes charts and graphs.

Usually glossy with color illustrations and many advertisements.

Frequently glossy with advertisements related to the particular field or profession.

Article length

Generally long articles including original research or in-depth analysis of topics, usually with a very specific focus.

Mostly shorter articles with broad overviews or reports on a particular event or issue.

Usually short to medium length articles.

Content

Original research and analysis. Usually includes abstract, methodology, summary, suggestions for further research & a bibliography or footnotes.  Sometimes contains book reviews on new books in the field.

Short general interest topics with some feature-length articles, news, and/or opinion. Sometimes includes book and film reviews.

Trends, new developments, or future projections in a particular field or profession, and related news. Sometimes contains book reviews or ads for new books in the field.

Writing style

Uses specialized terminology or jargon relevant to the discipline.

Uses language that a high-school student could understand.

Assumes reader is familiar with the field.  Uses some specialized terminology or jargon.

References

Includes references, footnotes, or a listing of works cited.

Seldom has references.

Articles may have references, but often do not.

Examples

Educational Psychology

American Journal of Education

Newsweek

Vogue

Sports Illustrated

National Paralegal Reporter

Edutopia: What Works in Public Education

Poets and Writers

What is a Scholarly Journal?

For More Information on Scholarly Sources

Content of a Scholarly Journal

 A scholarly journal contains highly researched empirical studies and analytical essays on a specialized topic.

 In a scholarly journal, you will often find the following components:

  • Abstract: A brief summary of the purpose, design, and results of the study.
  • Introduction: Provides background information and explains how the research contributes to the field. May or may not contain the literature review.
  • Literature review: Summarizes the previously published research and points out gaps or inconsistencies addressed by the current study. May either be included in the introduction or exist as its own section.
  • Methods: Detailed information on how the research was conducted.
  • Results: Summarizes the data collected during the study. Often contains charts and graphs.
  • Discussion: Analyzes the data and its significance and may mention implications for future research.
  • Conclusion: Recaps the research results and may mention implications for future research.
  • References:  Properly formatted list of works cited in the article.
  • Technical terminology specific to the field of study
  • Statistical data

    •  

      

Contact

James A. Cannavino Library

3399 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 575-3106

In the Library