Skip to Main Content

SWMP601: Assessment & Diagnosis for Trauma Informed Practice: Search for Sources for the Assessment & Diagnosis Paper

Search Individual Databases

Why so many databases? Why not just use FoxHunt?

Why so many databases? Why not just use FoxHunt?

  • FoxHunt searches through many source types and subject areas and the results can be overwhelming
  • Sources about your topic will be found more quickly in these databases because they
    • Specialize in a subject area and recognize social work topics more readily
    • Search a smaller universe of content and often have a more intuitive search algorithm
  • Some of their content cannot be found through FoxHunt
  • FoxHunt defaults to things the library has immediate access to and while it can expand outward, it is easier and less overwhelming to explore all content on a topic, whether the library has access to it or not, through these databases

Search Tips

Your project should be about your viewpoint or argument about a topic, not about reporting back about what existing sources say.  So when searching in these databases or FoxHunt, keep the following in mind:

  • It is unlikely that you will find sources that reflect exactly what you want to argue or write about.  Do not get discouraged by this!  It means you are on the right track to presenting an original idea!
  • Sources can be used for different parts of your argument, they do not need to apply to all aspects of a argument.
  • When searching, do not type in your research question or a sentence about your topic, searching in full sentences or questions rarely works beyond Google and the idea is to select college level sources not internet sources so keep using the library databases and FoxHunt.
  • Search Multiple Times: If your first search does not yield anything, try again!  Sometimes adding or taking out a search term changes things dramatically.
  • Search Multiple Places: Try searching in different places, some databases are better for some topics than others.
  • Be Flexible!: There may be sources that address similar themes that are not exactly about your topic but can be related. Ex: social media platforms have similar user issues and effects on users.

FoxHunt

FoxHunt logoFoxHunt

 

Search the Library databases and the catalog

What is FoxHunt?

FoxHunt is a search tool which can be used to search through many of the library’s resources all in one search box. You can think of it like our library’s Google, searching through databases of books, eBooks, newspaper articles, scholarly research articles, reference materials, videos, images and more all in one search.

It can be used to see if the library has access to a source as it is meant to search for materials that the library has access to.

Not all databases and content are in FoxHunt so it is highly recommend you search the databases on this page too or first.

FoxHunt: Using Your Results

FoxHunt Searching: Starting Your Search

Contact

James A. Cannavino Library

3399 North Road
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
(845) 575-3106

In the Library