LibGuides: Religions of the World: Other Religions

Websites on Other Religions

In this box you will find examples of websites that can be found on a wide array of religions. Included may be religion's homepages, online libraries, news sources, and scholarly or informational websites. To access these resources simply click on one of the above tabs, such as "Bahá’í", it will allow you to see a small example of resources on the topic. Some religions will have a ton of resources, others few. When looking at these websites make sure to take into consideration any biases the folks publishing them may have.

Please feel free to contact me using my contact information on the General Resources tab if you think I have forgotten a source or want to suggest one!

Libraries

Bahá’í Reference Library
The Bahá’í Reference Library is the authoritative online source of Bahá’í writings. It contains selected works of Bahá’u’lláh, the Báb, ‘Abdu’l‑Bahá, Shoghi Effendi, and the Universal House of Justice, as well as other Bahá’í texts.
Bahá’í Library Online
Online library that allows access to a multitude of primary, secondary and multimedia sources on the Bahá’í faith.

Websites

Bahá’í International Community
Organization representing the interests of the Baha'i community around the world. Here you can access perspectives of the faith and this organization as well as news, publications, videos and official statements from the Community.
Bahá’í.com
Website on the Bahá’í faith that includes websites, statements and other resources.
The Bahá’í Faith
The Official Website of the Worldwide Bahá’í community.
The Bahá’í Encyclopedia Project
Encyclopedia providing information about the Bahá’í Faith

News

Bahá’í World News Service
The official news source of the worldwide Bahá’í community.

Websites

Asia For Educators: Living in the Chinese Cosmos
Subsection of the site "Asia for Educators" provided by Columbia University. Here you can explore information on religion in late Imperial China.
Oxford Annotated Bibliographies- Chinese Studies
Annotated bibliographies on Chinese studies. Includes Confucianism & Daoism as topics.

Libraries

Chinese Text Project
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. Entire pages are dedicated to Daoism & Confucianism.

Websites

JAINpedia
JAINpedia is a compilation of resources on Jainism and Jainists created by the Institute of Jainology in collaboration with other important organizations. It includes an encyclopedia, timelines, manuscripts an e-library and gallery.
Jainworld.com (Jainism Global Resource Center)
Resource that strives to purvey the Jainist faith all over the world. Includes, lectures, bibliographies, an encyclopedia and dictionary among other things.
Library of Original Jain Literature
Website dedicated to raising awareness of true Jain literature and to making it accessible to everyone. Includes a library of Jain books, biographies, a study guide and an up to date calendar.
JAINA: Federation of Jain Associations in North America
Organization that is representative of Jain Centers in the USA and Canada. Here you can access publications, find Jain Centers, access their eLibrary, videos (Jainism 101), and other Jainism study resources.

Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Mormonism
The Wiki version of Macmillan's 1992 Encyclopedia of Mormonism. Includes background information on topics and events as well as biographies of people in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Latter-day Saint Biographical Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of biographies of many Mormon men and women early in the early years of the faith.

Sites Provided by the official Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints website

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Official website of the Mormon faith. Here you can explore what they believe and access some of their libraries. Included are holy texts, history of important people, Scriptures, Music Libraries and much more.
Current Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints Publications
Available via the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints website. Here you can access up to date publications including magazines, books, history, scriptures, teachings and much more.
LDS- Church History Topics
Site provided by the LDS Church that explains important people, places, and occurrences throughout the churches history.

Free Online Library/Databases

ScholarsArchive- Publications produced by Brigham Young University.
Open access portal that allows access to books, journals, and other publications from Brigham Young University on the Mormon faith.
Studies in Mormon History
Free online database that includes citations to articles and dissertations dealing with the history, culture, and doctrine of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Full texts can be found in this resource but InterLibrary Loan (ILL) may be needed. (See ILL tab at the top of this guide.)
Church History Library -The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Open access library provided directly by the church. It provides access to their recent publications, research guides curated by librarians, databases, blogs, videos and so much more.

Websites

The Joseph Smith Papers
The authoritative source for the writings, teachings, and records of Joseph Smith
Mormon Texts Project
Index of all LDS books available on Project Gutenberg. Organized by author.
Mormon Studies Resources
Resource provided by the BYU library. It includes timelines of important people, the faith, literature, biographies, art, history and so much more. While this resource is mostly open access there are a few resources available only to BYU affiliates.

Website

The Pagan Federation
Non-profit organization in the U.K. dedicated to supporting and educating people about pagans. They have sections on many types of paganism including, druids, wicca/witches, heathens and hellenism in their "Paganism" tab.
Paganism & Wicca (LearnReligions.com)
Educational site that provides articles on a range of relevant topics. Sections include: Basics, Rituals and Ceremonies, Sabbats and Holidays, Wicca Gods, Herbalism, Wicca Traditions, and Wicca Resources for Parents.
Covenant of the Goddess
Non-profit organization that is dedicated to educating the public on Wicca and bringing it's practitioners together. Here you can find a glossary on wiccan subjects, a newsletter and brief explanations of some of the different schools and rituals practiced in Wicca and during witchcraft.
Internet Book of Shadows
Large compilation of articles related to neopaganism.

News

Wildhunt.org
The Wild Hunt is an independent news agency, focusing only on Pagan, Heathen, Witchcraft and polytheist communities. Here you can search their news archives by topic or geographical location.

Websites

Center for Studies on New Religions (CESNUR)
International network of associations of scholars working in the field of new religious movements. Contains an index organized by theme and religion. Some may not be in English or your preferred language. If that is the case remember Google translate can be of help.

Websites of the New Religious Movements

Here you can find examples of some of the websites of some prominent New Religious Movements as well as those surrounding Marist. If your religion of interest is not included try searching for them via Google below. There are quite a few NRM out there and many will have their own respective sites. Make sure to understand and keep in mind that these sites, like most sites, will be colored with the originators beliefs and biases in mind.

The Aetherius Society

The Aetherius Society
Official website for the religion. Here you can find information on their beliefs, their founder, locations and so much more!

Al Islam

Al Islam: The Official Website of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community
Here you can find this religions beliefs, teachings, and an entire library of books key to the religion which you can access free of charge.

Bruderhof Communities

Bruderhof.com
Official website of the Bruderhof's here you can find information about their faith, communities, values and so much more! They have many communities in the areas surrounding Marist including right across the river.

Christian Science

Christian Science
Official website of the religion. Here you can find their basic beliefs, online lectures, publications by the faith and much more. They have a reading room in the area just south of Wappinger Falls.

Unificationists

Family Federation for World Peace and Unification
Also known as Unificationists or Moonies. This is their official site and here you can find information about who they are, news in the community, their beliefs and much more. They have a school in the area just north of Rhinebeck.

Falen Dafa

Faluninfo: Falun Dafa Information Center
Group that is the press office for the the Falun Gong (Falun Dafa). It has news, history, and other information on the religion including their perceived persecution by the Chinese government.
FalunDafa.org
Website that allows access to many books and writings on the religion by important figures in the religion. It also has links to Faluninfo & Minghui.org
Minghui.org
Minghui is an all-volunteer organization that operates Minghui.org, a website dedicated to reporting on the Falun Gong community worldwide with a focus on China. It includes news, important events, and information on the religion.

Scientology

Scientology.org
Official site of the Church of Scientology. Here you can find their, beliefs, practices, creeds, codes, and churches near you.

Tenrikyo

Tenrikyo
Official website of the religion. Here you can explore the history of the religion via a timeline as well as their beliefs and much more.
Tenrikyo: A Japanese Religious Tradition
more...less...
An article on the New Religion made hosted by scholarly commons and made possible by Ouachita Baptist University. This article gives you information on the history, beliefs, sacred texts and much more about the faith.

Websites

Encyclopedia of Shinto
Encyclopedia created by Kokugakuin University. Includes basic information as well as information on the beliefs, doctrines, and more.
Encyclopedia of Shinto - Chronological Supplement
JINJA SHINTO: Shinto Online Network Association
organization run by volunteer Shinto priests that is dedicated to publicizing Japanese tradition and a correct understanding of the Shinto religion.
JINJA HONCHO: Association of Shinto Shrines

Encyclopedias

The Sikh Encyclopedia
Comprehensive free online encyclopedia on the religion of Sikhism.

Websites

Sikhs.org
Website dedicated to explaining the Sikh religion.
The Sikh Foundation
Foundation that promotes the heritage and future of Sikhism. It is a non-profit non-political charitable organization that provides the platform for the academic/scholarly open-access Sikh Research Journal(SRJ)

News

The World Sikh News
Organization dedicated to reporting news relating to the sikh religion throughout the world.

Encyclopedia Iranica
An encyclopedia on Iranian civilization. Type in "Zoro" in the search bar and you will get quite a bit on the religion and founder.
Avesta.org
Website dedicated to the Zoroastrian religion. Includes the Avesta, Middle Persian scriptures, information about the Avestan language, and other information useful for those interested in the Zoroastrian religion.
Mazdaism- OpenSIUC - The Open Court
Article on Mazdaism from the repository of Southern Illinois University. It is taken from The Open Court an out of publication magazine that focused on religion.

Library Resources on Other Religions

In this box you will find examples of library resources that can be found through Marist library on a wide array of religions. To access these resources simply click on one of the above tabs, such as "Bahá’í", to see a small example of books & journals on the topic. These lists are not exhaustive so if you want to find more check out FoxHunt or contact a librarian.

Please feel free to contact me using my contact information on the General Resources tab if you think I have forgotten a source or book!

Journals

The Journal of Baháʼí studies
Offers Baháʼí perspectives on contemporary issues such as peace, human rights, ethics, governance, development, gender equality, the environment, the arts, race and ethnic relations. They also include the study of the Baháʼí teachings, its laws and principles, as well as the history of the Baháʼí Faith, its central figures and the development of the Baháʼí community.
Occasional papers in Shaykhi, Babi and Baha'i studies

Books

LOC Call Number	Subject
BP 300-395	Bahá’í Faith

Prayers and Meditations by Bahaullah; Shoghí Effendí Rabbání (Translator) Prayers and Meditations contains 184 passages carefully selected from the writings of Baha'u'llah, the Prophet and Founder of the Baha'i Faith. This storehouse of spiritual sustenance for the soul combines prayers and meditative passages and offers the opportunity for personal spiritual reflection as well as conversation and communion with God. Readers will find passages that deal with tests and difficulties, spiritual growth, and healing, as well as those centered on the praise and remembrance of God.
Call Number: BP362 .A3 2013
ISBN: 9781618510228
Publication Date: 2013-05-01
Baháʾí world faith / selected writings of Baháʾuʾlláh and ʻAbduʾl-Bahá. by Baháʾuʾlláh
Call Number: BP360 .B135 1966
Publication Date: 1966
The Baha'i Faith by William Hatcher; James D. Martin
Call Number: BP365 .H335 1985
ISBN: 0060654414
Publication Date: 1985-03-01
God Passes By by Shoghí Effendí Rabbání; G. Townshend (Introduction by)
Call Number: BP330 .S5 2019
ISBN: 0877430209
Publication Date: 1975-03-01
Religion and Public Discourse in an Age of Transition by Geoffrey Cameron (Editor); Benjamin Schewel (Editor)
ISBN: 9781771123310
Publication Date: 2018-01-03
Studies in Modern Religions, and Religious Movements and the Babi-Baha'I Faiths by Moshe Sharon (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004139046
Publication Date: 2004-08-13

General

LOC Call Number	Subject
BL1000-1035	General Religion (Asia)
BL1790-1975	Religion (China)
BL1830-1883	Confucianism
BL1899-1942.85	Taoism (Daoism)

Asian Religions in Practice by Donald S. Lopez (Editor)
ISBN: 9780691214788
Publication Date: 2020-06-30
The Religious Traditions of Asia by Joseph Kitagawa (Editor) This essential student textbook consists of seventeen sections, all written by leading scholars in their different fields. They cover all the religious traditions of Southwest Asia, Southeast Asia, Central Asia, Tibet, and East Asia. The major traditions that are described and discussed are (from the Southwest) Hinduism, Jainism, Buddhism, Sikhism and Islam, and (from the East) Taoism, Confucianism and Shinto. In addition, the tradition of Bon in Tibet, the shamanistic religions of Inner Asia, and general Chinese, Korean and Japanese religion are also given full coverage. The emphasis throughout is on clear description and analysis, rather than evaluation. Ten maps are provided to add to the usefulness of this book, which has its origin in the acclaimed Encyclopedia of Religion, edited by Mircea Eliade of the University of Chicago.
ISBN: 1138146765
Publication Date: 2016-05-11

Confucianism

Confucianism As Religion: Controversies and Consequences by Yong Chen
ISBN: 1283854589
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Four Books by James Legge
ISBN: 9781375946636
Publication Date: 2017-08-22

Daoism

Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu
Call Number: BL1900.L3 E5 1997
The Emergence of Daoism by Gil Raz
ISBN: 1136618066
Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Daoism and Chinese Culture by Livia Kohn
ISBN: 9781931483001
Publication Date: 2005-06-30
Women in Daoism by Livia Kohn; Catherine Despeux
ISBN: 1931483019
Publication Date: 2005-06-30

Journals

International Journal of Jaina Studies
an open access, peer reviewed journal published by the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London since 2005. To access previous articles explore the archives link.
Jaina Studies: Newsletter of the Centre of Jaina Studies

Books

LOC Call Number	Subject
BL1300-1380	Jainism
BL1310-1314.2	Sacred books. Sources
BL1315- BL1317	Jain literature
BL1375.3-1375.7	Jaina pantheon. Deities
BL1376-1378.85	Forms of worship

Gender and Salvation by Padmanabh Jaini; Robert Goldman (Preface by)
ISBN: 0520068203
Publication Date: 1991-01-11
Jainism by Jeffery D. Long
ISBN: 0857713922
Publication Date: 2013-03-22
Studies in Jaina History and Culture by Peter Flügel (Editor)
ISBN: 1134235526
Publication Date: 2006-02-01

Journals

Mormon Historical Studies
Access by scrolling down to use the dropdown on the right under "Mormon historical studies" to see the issues. Then click on an issue and scroll down past the buying option to the actual article titles for access.
Journal of Mormon History
An official publication of the Mormon History Association. 3 year embargo.

Books

LOC Call Number	Subject
BX8601-8695	Mormons. Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

The book of Mormon
Call Number: BX8623 1920
Mormonism: A Very Short Introduction by Richard Lyman Bushman
ISBN: 9780195310306
Publication Date: 2008-04-22
Succession in the Presidency of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints by B. H. Roberts
Publication Date: 2011-03-11
The Rise of Mormonism by Rodney Stark; Reid L. Neilson
ISBN: 9780231136341
Publication Date: 2005-10-19
By the Hand of Mormon by L. Givens Terryl
ISBN: 1280480971
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Shakers, Mormons, and Religious Worlds by Stephen C. Taysom
ISBN: 9780253355409
Publication Date: 2010-11-22

Books/E-Books

Contemporary Paganism by Graham Harvey
ISBN: 9780814790618
Publication Date: 2011-02-07
Pagan Theology by Michael York
ISBN: 0814797083
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained Many carefully researched entries shed light on such diverse and controversial subjects as cryptozoology, folklore, fringe science, ghosts, spiritualism, UFOs and witchcraft.
ISBN: 1849722544
Publication Date: 2008-01-16
Animism by Graham Harvey
Call Number: GN471 .H34 2006
ISBN: 0231137001
Publication Date: 2005-10-26

Wicca/Witchcraft

Witchcraft Today by Gerald B. Gardener
Call Number: BF1571 .G3 1982
ISBN: 0939708035
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft and Wicca by Rosemary Guiley Uncover the magic and truth behind this compelling topic.In more than 480 entries, ""The Encyclopedia of Witches, Witchcraft, and Wicca, Third Edition"" is an exciting update to one of the landmark references on the subject - by paranormal expert Rosemary Ellen Guiley. This new edition provides unparalleled coverage of witchcraft practices around the world - spanning different time periods
ISBN: 1438126840
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Wicca by Ethan Doyle White
ISBN: 1845197542
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Witchcraft in the British Isles and New England by Brian P. Levack (Editor)
ISBN: 9780815336723
Publication Date: 2001-12-14

Druids

Caesar's Druids by Miranda Aldhouse-Green Ancient chroniclers, including Julius Caesar himself, made the Druids and their sacred rituals infamous throughout the Western world. But in fact, as Miranda Aldhouse-Green shows in this fascinating book, the Druids' day-to-day lives were far less lurid and much more significant. Exploring the various roles that Druids played in British and Gallic society during the first centuries B.C. and A.D.--not just as priests but as judges, healers, scientists, and power brokers--Aldhouse-Green argues that they were a highly complex, intellectual, and sophisticated group whose influence transcended religion and reached into the realms of secular power and politics. With deep analysis, fresh interpretations, and critical discussions, she gives the Druids a voice that resonates in our own time.
ISBN: 9780300124422
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
The Druids by Stuart Piggott Combines fact and folklore in exploring the history and culture of the mysterious Celtic priests.
Call Number: BL910 .P5 1975
ISBN: 0500273634
Publication Date: 1985-05-01

Disclaimer:

Many of the New Religious Movements discussed in these books or journals may already have their own tabs!! If this is the case make sure to check out those as well.

Journals

Books

New Age, Neopagan, and New Religious Movements by Hugh B. Urban New Age, Neopagan, and New Religious Movements is the most extensive study to date of modern American alternative spiritual currents. Hugh B. Urban covers a range of emerging religions from the mid-nineteenth century to the present, including the Nation of Islam, Mormonism, Scientology, ISKCON, Wicca, the Church of Satan, Peoples Temple, and the Branch Davidians. This essential text engages students by addressing major theoretical and methodological issues in the study of new religions and is organized to guide students in their learning. Each chapter focuses on one important issue involving a particular faith group, providing readers with examples that illustrate larger issues in the study of religion and American culture. Urban addresses such questions as, Why has there been such a tremendous proliferation of new spiritual forms in the past 150 years, even as our society has become increasingly rational, scientific, technological, and secular? Why has the United States become the heartland for the explosion of new religious movements? How do we deal with complex legal debates, such as the use of peyote by the Native American Church or the practice of plural marriage by some Mormon communities? And how do we navigate issues of religious freedom and privacy in an age of religious violence, terrorism, and government surveillance?  
ISBN: 9780520962125
Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Inside Scientology by Janet Reitman Scientology, created in 1954 by a prolific sci-fi writer named L. Ron Hubbard, claims to be the world’s fastest growing religion, with millions of members around the world and huge financial holdings. Its celebrity believers keep its profile high, and its teams of “volunteer ministers” offer aid at disaster sites such as Haiti and the World Trade Center. But Scientology is also a notably closed faith, harassing journalists and others through litigation and intimidation, even infiltrating the highest levels of the government to further its goals. Its attacks on psychiatry and its requirement that believers pay as much as tens and even hundreds of thousands of dollars for salvation have drawn scrutiny and skepticism. And ex-members use the Internet to share stories of harassment and abuse.nbsp; Now Janet Reitman offers the first full journalistic history of the Church of Scientology, in an evenhanded account that at last establishes the astonishing truth about the controversial religion. She traces Scientology’s development from the birth of Dianetics to today, following its metamorphosis from a pseudoscientific self-help group to a worldwide spiritual corporation with profound control over its followers and even ex-followers.nbsp; Based on five years of research, unprecedented access to Church officials, confidential documents, and extensive interviews with current and former Scientologists, this is the defining book about a little-known world.
ISBN: 9780618883028
Publication Date: 2011-07-05
Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements by Peter Clarke (Editor) New Religious Movements (NRMs) can involve vast numbers of followers and in many cases are radically changing the way people understand and practice religion and spirituality. Moreover, many are having a profound impact on the form and content of mainstream religion. The Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements provides uniquely global coverage of the phenomenon, with entries on over three-hundred movement from almost every country in the world. Coverage includes movements that derive from the major religions of the world and to neo-traditional movements, movements often overlooked in the study of NRMs. In addition to the coverage of particular movements there are also entries on topics, themes, key thinkers and key ideas, for example the New Age Movement, Neo-Paganism, New Religion and gender, NRMs and cyberspace, NRMs and the law, the Anti-Cult Movement, Swedenborg, Jung, Teilhard de Chardin, Lovelock, Gurdjieff, al-Banna, Qutb. The marked global approach and comprehensiveness of the encyclopedia enable an appreciation of the innovative energy of NRMs, of their extraordinary diversity, and the often surprising ways in which they can propagate geographically. The most ambitions publication of its sort, the Encyclopedia of New Religious Movements is a major addition to the reference literature for students and researchers of the field in religious studies and the social sciences. Entries are cross-referenced with short bibliographies for further reading. There is a full index.
ISBN: 1134499698
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
The Oxford Handbook of New Religious Movements by James R. Lewis (Editor)
ISBN: 0195149866
Publication Date: 2003-12-11
Cults and New Religions by Douglas E. Cowan; David G. Bromley
ISBN: 9781118723500
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
Women in New Religions by Laura Vance An in-depth history of selected New Religions that highlights the roles of women in their founding and continual practice Women in New Religions offers an engaging look at women's evolving place in the birth and development of new religious movements. It focuses on four disparate new religions--Mormonism, Seventh-day Adventism, The Family International, and Wicca--to illuminate their implications for gender socialization, religious leadership and participation, sexuality, and family ideals. Religious worldviews and gender roles interact with one another in complicated ways. This is especially true within new religions, which frequently set roles for women in ways that help the movements to define their boundaries in relation to the wider society. As new religious movements emerge, they often position themselves in opposition to dominant society and concomitantly assert alternative roles for women. But these religions are not monolithic: rather than defining gender in rigid and repressive terms, new religions sometimes offer possibilities to women that are not otherwise available. Vance traces expectations for women as the religions emerge, and transformation of possibilities and responsibilities for women as they mature. Weaving theory with examination of each movement's origins, history, and beliefs and practices, this text contextualizes and situates ideals for women in new religions. The book offers an accessible analysis of the complex factors that influence gender ideology and its evolution in new religious movements, including the movements' origins, charismatic leadership and routinization, theology and doctrine, and socio-historical contexts. It shows how religions shape definitions of women's place in a way that is informed by response to social context, group boundaries, and identity.
ISBN: 9781479847990
Publication Date: 2015-03-13
Controversial New Religions by James R. Lewis (Editor); Jesper Aa. Petersen (Editor) In terms of public opinion, new religious movements are considered controversial for a variety of reasons ranging from how they speak, dress, and eat, to the way they think and their sense of community. Their social organization often runs counter to popular expectations by experimenting withcommunal living (or strict individualism), alternative leadership roles (or flat network structures), unusual economic dispositions, and new political and ethical values. As a result the general public views new religions with a mixture of curiosity, amusement, and anxiety, sustained by lavish mediaemphasis on oddness and tragedy rather than familiarity and lived experience.This updated and revised second edition of Controversial New Religions offers a scholarly, dispassionate look at those groups that have generated the most attention, including some very well-known classical groups like The Family, Unification Church, Scientology, and Jim Jones' People's Temple; somerelative newcomers such as the Kabbalah Centre, the Order of the Solar Temple, Branch Davidians, Heaven's Gate, and the Falun Gong; and some interesting cases like contemporary Satanism, the Raelians, Black nationalism, and various Pagan groups. Written by established scholars as well as youngerexperts in the field, each essay combines an overview of the history and beliefs of each organization or movement with original and insightful analysis. By presenting decades of scholarly work on new religious movements in an accessible form, this book will be an invaluable resource for all thosewho seek a view of new religions that is deeper than what can be found in sensationalistic media stories.
ISBN: 9780199315314
Publication Date: 2014-08-13

Journals

Japanese Journal of Religious Studies

Books

LOC Call Number	Topic
BL2195-2228	Japan
BL2216-2227.8	Shinto

The Essence of Shinto by Motohisa Yamakage In The Essence of Shinto, revered Shinto master Motohisa Yamakage explains the core values of Shinto and explores both basic tenets and its more esoteric points in terms readily accessible to the modern Western reader. He shows how the long history of Shintoism is deeply woven into the fabric of Japanese spirituality and mythology--indeed, it is regarded as Japan's very spiritual roots--and discusses its role in modern Japan and the world. He also carefully analyzes the relationship of the spirit and the soul, which will provide informed and invaluable insight into
Call Number: BL2221 .Y355613 2006
ISBN: 9784770030443
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
A New History of Shinto by John Breen; Mark Teeuwen This accessible guide to the development of Japan's indigenous religion from ancient times to the present day offers an illuminating introduction to the myths, sites and rituals of kami worship, and their role in Shinto's enduring religious identity. Offers a unique new approach to Shinto history that combines critical analysis with original research Examines key evolutionary moments in the long history of Shinto, including the Meiji Revolution of 1868, and provides the first critical history  in English or Japanese of the Hie shrine, one of the most important in all Japan Traces the development of various shrines, myths, and rituals through history as uniquely diverse phenomena, exploring how and when they merged into the modern notion of Shinto that exists in Japan today Challenges the historic stereotype of Shinto as the unchanging, all-defining core of Japanese culture
ISBN: 1444317199
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Shinto and the State, 1868-1988 by Helen Hardacre Helen Hardacre, a leading scholar of religious life in modern Japan, examines the Japanese state's involvement in and manipulation of shinto from the Meiji Restoration to the present. Nowhere else in modern history do we find so pronounced an example of government sponsorship of a religion as in Japan's support of shinto. How did that sponsorship come about and how was it maintained? How was it dismantled after World War II? What attempts are being made today to reconstruct it? In answering these questions, Hardacre shows why State shinto symbols, such as the Yasukuni Shrine and its prefectural branches, are still the focus for bitter struggles over who will have the right to articulate their significance. Where previous studies have emphasized the state bureaucracy responsible for the administration of shinto, Hardacre goes to the periphery of Japanese society. She demonstrates that leaders and adherents of popular religious movements, independent religious entrepreneurs, women seeking to raise the prestige of their households, and men with political ambitions all found an association with shinto useful for self-promotion; local-level civil administrations and parish organizations have consistently patronized shinto as a way to raise the prospects of provincial communities. A conduit for access to the prestige of the state, shinto has increased not only the power of the center of society over the periphery but also the power of the periphery over the center.
ISBN: 9780691221298
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
Studies in Shinto and Shrines by R. A. B. Ponsonby-Fane
ISBN: 9781315030258
Publication Date: 2014-06-03
Shinto Shrines by Joseph Cali; John Dougill Of Japan's two great religious traditions, Shinto is far less known and understood in the West. Although there are a number of books that explain the religion and its philosophy, this work is the first in English to focus on sites where Shinto has been practiced since the dawn of Japanese history. In an extensive introductory section, authors Joseph Cali and John Dougill delve into the fascinating aspects of Shinto, clarifying its relationship with Buddhism as well as its customs, symbolism, and pilgrimage routes. This is followed by a fully illustrated guide to 57 major Shinto shrines throughout Japan, many of which have been designated World Heritage Sites or National Treasures. In each comprehensive entry, the authors highlight important spiritual and physical features of the individual shrines (architecture, design, and art), associated festivals, and enshrined gods. They note the prayers offered and, for travelers, the best times to visit. With over 125 color photographs and 50 detailed illustrations of archetypical Shinto objects and shrines, this volume will enthrall not only those interested in religion but also armchair travelers and visitors to Japan alike. Whether you are planning to visit the actual sites or take a virtual journey, this guide is the perfect companion. Visit Joseph Cali's Shinto Shrines of Japan: The Blog Guide: http://shintoshrinesofjapanblogguide.blogspot.jp/. Visit John Dougill's Green Shinto, "dedicated to the promotion of an open, international and environmental Shinto": http://www.greenshinto.com/wp/.
ISBN: 9780824837754
Publication Date: 2012-11-30

Journals

Books

LOC Call Number	Topic
BL2000-2032	India
BL2017-2018.7	Sikhism

Sikhism by Eleanor Nesbitt The Sikh religion has a following of over 20 million people worldwide and is one of the largest religions in the world. However, events such as the verbal and physical attacks on Sikhs just after September 11 indicated that Sikhs were being mistaken for Muslims, and suggests that the raising of sufficient and appropriate awareness about Sikhism still needs to be addressed. This book will introduce newcomers to the meaning of Sikhism, and its practices, rituals, and festivals. The key threads in the fascinating history of the religion will be highlighted, from the Gurus and the development of the Sikh look, to martyrdom and militarization in the 17th and 18th Centuries and the diaspora. Eleanor Nesbitt brings the subject completely up to date with an examination of gender and caste, referring to contemporary film, such as "Bend It Like Beckham," and media reports.
ISBN: 1280753021
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
A Popular Dictionary of Sikhism by W. Owen Cole; Piara S. Sambhi
Call Number: BL2018 .C65 1990 (Reference)
ISBN: 0700702024
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Sikh Identity by Opinderjit Kaur Takhar It is commonly assumed that all Sikhs are the same, but the very existence of different groups who have varying beliefs and practices within the Sikh community shows that a corporate identity for the Sikh community is not possible and serves to alienate a substantial proportion of Sikhs from the overall fold of the Sikh faith. Introducing the beliefs and practices of a range of individual Sikh groups, this book addresses the issue of Sikh identity across the Sikh community as a whole but from the viewpoint of different types of Sikh. Examining the historical development of Sikhism from the period of Guru Nanak to the present day, the author takes an in-depth look at five groups in the Sikh community - the Guru Nanak Nishkam Sewak Jatha; the Namdharis; the Ravidasis; the Valmikis; and the Sikh Dharma of the Western hemisphere (associated with the Healthy, Happy, Holy Organization - 3HO). Their history, beliefs and practices are explored, as well as their diverse and shared identities. Concluding that there is no authoritative yardstick with which to assess the issue of Sikh identity, the author highlights Sikhism's links to its Hindu past and suggests a federal Sikh identity with one or two fundamental beliefs at the core and individual groups left to express their own unique beliefs and practices.
ISBN: 9781351900119
Publication Date: 2016-12-05
Sikh Diaspora by Darshan Singh Tatla The Sikh Diaspora is an impressive, probing and original examination of the Sikh communities of Britain, Canada, and the United States. The author examines the cultural, economic and social linkages between overseas Sikh communities and the Punjab, discussing the Sikh diaspora's support for a Sikh homelandand its role in highlighting human rights? abuses in the Punjab. Exploring the diaspora's close involvement in issues emanating from its homeland, Dr. Tatla asks whether this involvement indicates an insecure settlement in the new countries. He is especially interested in the ways in which inter-state diplomacy, notably India's pressure on host states to curb ?Sikh extremism?, has affected the position of Sikh communities abroad. Drawing on literature and media from English and Punjabi sources, Dr. Tatla provides an insight into the emotional and psychological world of the diaspora and its yearning for an independent homeland. The book is a significant contribution to the growing literature on the role of diaspora communities as international actors in challenging the power of nation-states and of host societies. It will be an indispensable text for students of South Asia, and of great interest for those studying international migration and diasporas from the perspective of sociology or politics.
ISBN: 0295977159
Publication Date: 1998-01-01

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms

Reserve & Use Presentation Practice Room

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Brightspace

My Marist

Marist Home

My Accounts

Hours

Library Map

Staff Directory

Policies

FAQs

Student Support & Services

Student Athlete Resources

Distance Learner Resources

Study Abroad Resources

Guest Access

Alumni Access

Databases A-Z

Subject Guides

Course Guides

Course Reserves

Reference Materials

Newspapers

Primary & Secondary Sources

Find a Journal

Citation Help

Research Help & How Tos

Resource Sharing & InterLibrary Loan

Special Topics Guides

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Guides

2024-2025 Common Read

Marist Archives

Faculty Support & Services

Contact a Subject Liaison

Library Class Support

Request Course Reserves

Suggest a Purchase

Faculty Collaborative Rooms

Library Spaces for Faculty

Study Spaces

Technology & Printing

Reserve Collaborative Rooms