Some Notes on Reference Sources
1) Reference resources are considered pre-research and should be explored before looking for scholarly articles.
2) Reference resources are great for gaining a better understanding of a subject, finding keywords, and exploring different viewpoints of a topic.
3) Reference resources including viewpoints are not usually deemed appropriate resources for fulfilling the source requirements in final papers and annotated bibliographies.
Selected Reference Books
The Social History of the American Family by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1452286167Publication Date: 2014
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Family Studies, 4 Volume Set by Call Number: eBookISBN: 0470658452Publication Date: 2016
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Marriage, Family, and Couples Counseling by Call Number: eBookISBN: 1483369552Publication Date: 2016
Reference Databases
Reference can be a wonderful thing when researching a topic you know little about. The databases above can provide a wealth of information if you use the right search terms. In the general databases simply use terms like "Parenting" or maybe a more specific aspect of parenting you are interested in such as "Motherhood". To your left are some examples of great encyclopedias relevant to the topic. Below are some examples of interesting databases relevant to this classes topic.
Opposing Opinions
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowEveryone has opinions on subjects and in this database you can explore the many different sides of many topics. Opposing viewpoints allows you to search through different viewpoints as well as news, journals, magazines, videos and more.
Family Life Through History
Want to explore families in different times or in different cultures? Daily Life Through History allows you to access brief synopses of both family life throughout different times periods as well as different cultures.
- Daily Life Through History This link opens in a new windowTo use this databases for this class choose a time period and then a civilization, nation, or region. Once you have done this look to the links on the left hand side of the screen and click "family".