Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Return to Library Homepage

How to Find Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper Titles in Library Databases: Home

Why do we need this information?

  • Journal, magazine and newspaper titles are necessary for citations and sometimes citation generators, both those on the internet and through the library, leave this out or format it incorrectly.  So you need to be able to find it to make sure it is in your citation and done correctly.
  • You should find out more about the sources that publish your articles to make sure that you have quality information.  You need to find the journal, magazine, or newspaper title so that you can search in Google for more information about the source's quality and the reputation and mission of the publication that put this information out.
  • Also it is important to know the different between the journal/magazine/newspaper title and the name of the database.  Some citations require both, others do not.  It is incorrect to use the database name in place of the journal, magazine, or newspaper title.

This page offers guidance on where you can find this information in Fox Hunt and the major library databases.

Fox Hunt

diagram pointing out where to find journal, magazine, or newspaper title in Fox Hunt, located under Article title and Author name, it is a blue link

ProQuest Databases

diagram pointing out where to find database name and journal, magazine, and newspaper title in ProQuest databases, Database name is in the top left hand corner and the journal title can be found under the article title after the author's name

EbscoHost Databases

diagram pointing out where to find database name and journal, magazine, or newspaper title in Ebscohost databases,  database name can be found on the left hand side directly above the search bar and the journal, newspaper or magazine title is in the section labeled source under article title and author

Gale Databases

diagram pointing out where to find the database name and journal, newspaper, or magazine title in Gale databases.  The database name is in the upper left hand corner and the journal, newspaper, or magazine title is in the middle column underneath the article title

Sage Journals

diagram pointing our database name and journal title in Sage Journals database.  the database name is in the upper left hand corner and the journal title is above the article title

ScienceDirect

diagram pointing out where to find database name and journal, newspaper, or magazine title in ScienceDirect database.  The database name is in the upper left hand corner and the journal, magazine, or newspaper title is above the volume and issue information

Get Help

Get Help

Have an idea for a tutorial that we should make next? Let us know!