JSTOR
JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR's collection includes 1341 books and journals in the arts.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowAll disciplines. Archival and current issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowA general database with a large collection of resources.
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowA general database with a large collection of resources.
- America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowElectronic books - all disciplines. New: Download e-books onto multiple devices. Ebrary app for the Android or iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch (see Ebrary home page for more information).
- Creative Commons SearchSearch for creative commons licensed materials in a variety of places; including Flickr, Youtube, Google Images and SoundCloud.
- Google Scholar (proxied) This link opens in a new windowGoogle's search engine for academic articles, books and more.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexing of historical articles from more than 2,600 journals. Linked full text where available.
- Project MUSE - Basic College Collection This link opens in a new windowFull text journal articles in the humanities.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowA general database with a large collection of resources.
Artstor: an Introduction
ARTstor
About ARTstor:
The ARTstor Digital Libraryprovides digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. The community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
Initial registration must take place from within the Marist network (on campus or using the Marist VPN) but subsequent logins can be made from any computer or network.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowMore than one million images from hundreds of collections worldwide.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowIf you have not logged into Artstor from the Marist campus within the last 120 days, use this link.
Be sure to Log In at the upper right hand corner of the page once connected.
Search Individual Art & Art History Databases
- Google Art Project This link opens in a new windowHigh quality images from renown art museums throughout the world.
- Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowIndexing of historical articles from more than 2,600 journals. Linked full text where available.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art--Search the CollectionsSearchable database of artwork from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.
- New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowOver 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's collections; including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes Grove Dictionary of Art; The Oxford Companion to Western Art; Encyclopedia of Aesthetics; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. 3 simultaneous users.
- Art Discovery Group CatalogueFormerly Art Libraries.net. An index to search for books on a topic in art libraries around the world and online.
- Bibliography of the History of ArtAn index to search for articles on a topic, not full text.
Fox Hunt
Fox Hunt
Search the Library databases and the catalog