Search Tips
Selecting a database
- The databases on this page are recommended for searching for scholarly & peer-reviewed articles on the taxa you are researching
- Not every database will offer sources on your topic
ScienceDirect
- general science database, but includes other disciplines
- good for most taxa
- Able to limit to primary and secondary sources
PubAg
- U.S. Department of Agriculture scholarly search
- Offers a fair amount on invasive species, plants, animals, etc.,
Nature.com
- Includes a number of Nature journals, but also medical and genetic
- You can search individual journals or search the entire database
- Articles are labeled in search results as primary and secondary sources
Michigan Fisheries Research Group
- grey literature, not peer reviewed
- primary coverage is fish and other aquatic life
ITIS
- Ability to search by common or taxonomic name
- Provides full taxonomic information as well as links to outside sources for further information
Those below are good for all taxa but non-discipline specific so they won't have limits for primary and secondary sources, only scholarly vs. popular limits
- Google Scholar
- ProQuest Central
- Academic Search Elite
- Fox Hunt (includes books as well as articles, be sure to limit to scholarly & peer-reviewed to limit to just articles)
Search Individual Databases
- Science Direct This link opens in a new windowPlease note: Any articles marked as "Get Access" can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- PubAg This link opens in a new window
- Nature.com This link opens in a new window
- Michigan Fisheries Research LibraryAccess reports and research created by the Institute for Fisheries Research.
- ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemAuthoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
- Google Scholar (proxied) This link opens in a new window
Fox Hunt
Fox Hunt
Search the Library databases and the catalog
Search Individual Journals
Annual Review of Plant BiologyThe Annual Review of Plant Biology covers the significant developments in the field of Plant Biology, including Biochemistry and Biosynthesis, Genetics, Genomics and Molecular Biology, Cell Differentiation, Tissue, Organ and Whole Plant Events, Acclimation and Adaptation, and Methods and Model Organisms.
Animal BehaviourAnimal Behaviour is published for the Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour in collaboration with the Animal Behavior Society. Animal Behaviour continues to be the journal of choice for biologists, ethologists, psychologists, physiologists, and veterinarians with an interest in the subject.
Journal of Wildlife ManagementPublishes manuscripts containing information from original research that contributes to basic wildlife science. Suitable topics include investigations into the biology and ecology of wildlife and their habitats that has direct or indirect implications for wildlife management and conservation.
NaturePublishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology on the basis of its originality, importance, interdisciplinary interest, timeliness, accessibility, elegance and surprising conclusions.
Journal of Animal EcologyPublishes original research papers on all aspects of animal ecology; specifically those that make substantial contributions to our understanding of animal ecology as well as offering insights into issues of general interest to ecologists.
American EntomologistShares relevant information and thought-provoking dialogue about the practice, value, and impact of insect science across a diverse entomological community.
Invertebrate BiologyPresents fundamental advances in our understanding of the structure, function, ecology, and evolution of the invertebrates, which represent the vast majority of animal diversity.
Journal of HerpetologyPublishes original research articles on the biology of amphibians and reptiles, with emphasis on behavior, conservation, ecology, evolution, morphology, physiology, and systematics. The purpose of the Journal is to increase knowledge about amphibians and reptiles and promote communication among herpetologists and other biologists interested in amphibians and reptiles.
Wilson Journal of OrnithologyThe principal focus of the Journal is the study of living birds, their behavior, ecology, natural history, adaptive physiology, and conservation, but most ornithological topics are considered.