Selected Online Reference Books
Encyclopedia of Social WorkCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2012Published by the National Association of Social Workers. Widely considered the cornerstone of reference in its field. The Encyclopedia contains four hundred subject entries and two hundred brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work.
The Blackwell Companion to Social WorkCall Number: eBookPublication Date: 2013Publisher: John Wiley & Sons
A guide to social work theory and practice.
Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2005Publisher: Wilfrid Laurier University Press
Over five hundred topics important to Canadian social work are covered, written by a highly diverse group of social workers covering all aspects of the field and all areas of the country.
Social Workers' Desk Reference by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2015Publisher: Oxford University Press
People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis. Due to these issues, there is a need for social workers who have access torelevant and timely scholarly materials in order to meet the needs of those facing these issues. The social, psychological, and biological factors resulting from these issues determine the level of a person's mental health at any given point in time and it is necessary for social workers to continueto evolve and develop to the new faces and challenges of the times in order to adequately understand the effects of these issues. Continues to respond to the changes occurring in society and how they are impacting the education, research, and practice of social work as a whole.
The Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2003Publisher: Wiley
The Blackwell Companion to Major Classical Social Theorists provides a comprehensive review of classical social theory.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2017Publisher: Springer Publishing Company
This encyclopedia includes entries on: clinical symptoms and treatments of common and chronic diseases; healthcare policy issues; screening tools; tests of psychological and physical fitness; health maintenance; and medicare. It also provides information on assisted living.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2008Arranged across eleven volumes in A-Z format, it is the definitive reference source for students, researchers, and academics in the field. This ground-breaking project brings together specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2000This classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years.
Child Protection in America by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2006Publisher: Oxford University Press
In this vivid history of child protection in America, John E.B. Myers introduces realistic policies that will reduce maltreatment and strengthen the system that protects our children.
Reference Databases
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in the fields of business, education, geography, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and the social sciences.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowBritannica’s contributors include an extensive network of renowned scholars (including former U.S. presidents and Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winners), advisers, content specialists, and writers—whose job it is to ensure that Britannica is current, accurate, unbiased, comprehensive, relevant, international in scope, and engaging to college-level learners, researchers, and faculty.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text online access to hundreds of multidisciplinary reference book collections, including art, history, law, medicine, psychology, technology, bilingual dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Selected Reference Books in the Library
Faithful Angels: Portraits of International Social Work Notables
Call Number: HV27 .F35 2002Using in-depth personal interviews, James Billups taps the hard-won wisdom, insights, and expertise of fifteen 20th century social work notables from 13 countries.
The Social Work Dictionary by Call Number: Reference HV12 .B37 2004Publication Date: 2003Captures more than 9,000 terms, cataloging and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organizations, historical figures, and values that define the profession.Multicultural Issues in Social Work by
Call Number: HV41 .M84 1999Publication Date: 1999Presents a collective vision of multiculturalism and calls for research and practice based on the knowledge that individuals cannot be readily identified by single cultural categories. It will help researchers, policy makers, and practitioners in their work with diverse populations.
