Databases
- HLAS Online This link opens in a new window Handbook of Latin American Studies. Index to articles about literature and social sciences of Latin America.
- Gale OneFile: Informe Academico This link opens in a new window
- Biblioteca virtual Miguel de Cervantes Under the auspices of the Foundation, a unique university and private sector (Banco Santander) collaboration, the BVMC has developed through sustained commitment over many years an outstanding corpus of high quality and heterogeneous digital resources of Hispanic culture, supporting global research and academic studies, as well as serving as a rich, cultural resource accessible across the world.
- ICAA Documents of 20th Century Latin American and Latino Art Provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
- Dialnet Open Access database of academic journals, run by the University de la Rioja in Spain. Offers records of research published in Spanish academic journals as well as full text when available.
- SciELO An electronic library covering a selected collection of Brazilian scientific journals. The library is an integral part of a project being developed by FAPESP - Fundação de Amparo à Pesquisa do Estado de São Paulo, in partnership with BIREME - the Latin American and Caribbean Center on Health Sciences Information. Since 2002, the Project is also supported by CNPq - Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico.
- Redalyc An indexing system that contains open access journals of scientific and editorial quality. After 16 years of providing visibility and supporting the consolidation of journals, it now incorporates exclusively those journals, from any part of the world, that share the non-profit publishing model in order to preserve the scholarly and open nature of scientific communication.
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is part of the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies (LLILAS) and the Benson Latin American Collection at the University of Texas at Austin
- Consejo Latinoamerico de Ciences Sociales (CLACSO) Based on the firm objective of contributing to the dissemination of the academic production of the associated centers and programs that make up CLACSO, we have formed a Network of Virtual Libraries in a cooperative, decentralized way and respecting the philosophy of open access. It seeks to increase the impact of the results of that production in education, research, on social actors and society as a whole.
- Central American Journals Online (CAMJOL) A service to provide access to Central American published research, and increase worldwide knowledge of indigenous scholarship. CAMJOL is a database of journals published in Central America, covering the full range of academic disciplines.
- Biblioteca Digital Hispanica The digital library of the Biblioteca Nacional de España. It provides access free of charge to thousands of digitised documents, including books printed from the 15th to the 20th century, manuscripts, drawings, engravings, pamphlets, posters, photographs, maps, atlases, music scores, historic newspapers and magazines and audio recordings.
- Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano A project launched by the Asociación de Bibliotecas Nacionales de Iberoamérica (ABINIA). Its objective is the creation of a portal which provides access, from a single search point, to the digital resources of all the participating libraries.
Journals
Anales de la Literatura Espanola ContemporaneaPublisher: Society of Spanish and Spanish-American Studies
Characterized by a variety of content, allowing for multiple and diverse literary issues. Includes the literature of the Spanish Civil War, the Franco dictatorship and the subsequent democracy, the literary career of renowned writers and critical study of specific works.
Hispanic ReviewPublisher: The Department of Romance Languages at the University of Pennsylvania
Features essays and book reviews on the diverse cultural manifestations of Spain and Latin America, from the medieval period to the present.
Revista de Estudios HispánicosPublisher: Washington University in St. Louis
Features original manuscripts in all areas of Hispanic literatures, cultures, and film, including essays on theoretical and interdisciplinary topics.Journal of Spanish Cultural Studies
an international peer-reviewed journal that interrogates cultural production and cultural practices in or related to the nations comprised by the Spanish state. It promotes innovative theoretical and critical work at a high intellectual level that fills existing gaps in scholarship or rethinks the cultural meanings of previously studied material.
Reference Books
Collins Spanish Dictionary by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 2005The Collins Spanish Dictionary gives you comprehensive coverage of both Spanish and English and the most up-to-date business, political, and Internet terms. Native Spanish and English speakers worked side by side to create a balanced treatment of both languages and to ensure authentic and appropriate translations.
Spanish: an Essential Grammar by Publication Date: 2004Publisher: Taylor & Francis Group
A concise and user-friendly reference guide to the most important aspects of Spanish. It presents a fresh and accessible description of the language that combines traditional and function-based grammar.Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by
Call Number: eBookSome 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975.Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by
Call Number: Reference PQ7081.A1 E56 1997A comprehensive, encyclopedic guide to the authors, works, and topics crucial to the literature of Central and South America and the Caribbean. The encyclopedia also stresses the contribution made by women authors and by contemporary writers.
Companion to Latin American Literature and Culture by Publication Date: 2008Written by more than thirty experts in cultural theory, literary history, and literary criticism, this authoritative and up-to-date reference places major authors in the complex cultural and historical contexts that have compelled their distinctive fiction,essays, and poetry.
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by Publication Date: 2004Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.
Dissertations & Theses
- DART-EuropeA single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs)